Pakistan down South Africa in a rain-hit T20 WC clash


Watch HD Live Streaming on ARY ZAP:

SYDNEY: Pakistan maintained their unbeaten T20 World Cup record against South Africa as the men in green outclassed the Proteas Men by 33 runs in a rain-hit Super 12s fixture on Thursday.

SA 108/7 (14 Overs)

Haris Rauf to close out

SA 101/7 (13 Overs)

Naseem comes to bowl

SA 99/6 (12 Overs)

Wasim Jr replaces Shadab

SA 95/5 (11 Overs)

Shaheen comes back

SA 83/4 (10 Overs)

Shadab continues

SA 69/4 (9 Overs)

Mohammad Nawaz comes to bowl his first

SA 67/4 (8 Overs)

Shadab Khan comes into the attack

SA 65/2 (7 Overs)

Haris comes back

SA 48/2 (6 Overs)

Mohammad Wasim Jr comes into the attack

SA 39/2 (5 Overs)

Naseem replaces Shaheen

SA 36/2 (4 Overs)

Haris Rauf comes into the attack

SA 16/2 (3 Overs)

2.4: Short and wide on the eighth stump, Rilee Rossouw goes to cut this 134 kph delivery over backward point but instead the extra pace and bounce produce a top-edged slash to the deep third man.

Shaheen continues

SA 15/1 (2 Overs)

Naseem Shah to bowl from the other end

SA 1/1 (1 over)

0.6: Quinton de Kock tries to repeat the same shot with a heave aiming to clear midwicket but scuffs this off the toe of the bat and it floats gently to Mohammad Haris on the ring.

Quinton de Kock and Temba Bavuma come out to open for South Africa. Shaheen Shah Afridi to bowl the first over.


A majestic display of power hitting by Iftikhar Ahmed and Shadab Khan aided Pakistan to set a massive target of 186 against South Africa in the Super 12s Group 2 match of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, here on Thursday.

PAK 185/9 (20 Overs)

Rabada to bowl the final over

PAK 177/7 (19 Overs)

Nortje comes to bowl his last

PAK 159/5 (18 Overs)

Parnell comes back

PAK 148/5 (17 Overs)

Nortje replaces Shamsi

PAK 135/5 (16 Overs)

Ngidi replaces Parnell

PAK 120/5 (15 Overs)

Shamsi comes to bowl his last

PAK 105/5 (14 Overs)

Parnell comes back

PAK 95/5 (13 Overs)

12.6: The finger goes up, and Shamsi ends an eventful over with the partnership-breaking wicket. Nawaz walks off without reviewing

Shamsi comes again

PAK 82/4 (12 Overs)

Ngidi replaces Rabada

PAK 71/4 (11 Overs)

Shamsi continues

PAK 68/4 (10 Overs)

Rabada continues

PAK 55/4 (9 Overs)

Tabraiz Shamsi comes into the attack

PAK 50/4 (8 Overs)

Rabada comes back

PAK 43/4 (7 Overs)

6.3: Masood pushes too hard at this 132 kph delivery with his hands way out in front of his body expecting the ball to come through quicker at 150 kph and the ball lobs up gently to Bavuma at mid-off.

Nortje continues

PAK 42/3 (6 Overs)

5.2: He struggles to keep the hands back on a heave for the leg side and skies this over midwicket and mid-on. Rabada coves 25 yards running back from the edge of the circle and takes an over the shoulder catch in stride.

Ngidi continues

PAK 40/2 (5 Overs)

4.4: Haris shuffles way across his stumps to whip through midwicket on a 146 kph delivery and misses. Big lbw shout upheld.

Anrich Nortje comes into the attack

PAK 31/1 (4 Overs)

Lungi Ngidi replaces Rabada

PAK 27/1 (3 Overs)

Parnell continues

PAK 21/1 (2 Overs)

Kagiso Rabada to bowl from the other end

PAK 4/1 (1 Over)

0.4: Rizwan tried to open the face to guide this behind point to the third man but it’s too tight for the shot with a touch of movement back in and it comes off the bottom edge onto the stumps.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan come out to bat for Pakistan. Wayne Parnell to open the bowling attack.


SYDNEY: Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in the Super 12s Group 2 match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, here on Thursday.

Pakistan make one change to their Playing XI as Mohammad Haris replaces Fakhar Zaman, while Heinrich Klaasen and Tabraiz Shamsi come in for David Miller and Keshav Maharaj.

Playing XIs:

Pakistan: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, Tristan Stubbs, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi


Matches 21, Pakistan 11, South Africa 10


Pakistan: W, L, L, W, W
South Africa: 
W, W, NR, W, L