Sri Lanka announce 18-member squad for Test series against Pakistan

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka have announced an 18-member Test squad under the captaincy of Dimuth Karunartne for the upcoming Test series at home against Pakistan, scheduled from July 16.

Left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya will be leading Sri Lanka’s spin attack along with Maheesh Theekshana and Ramesh Mendis. Jayasuriya claimed 12 wickets helping his side to defeat Australia in the second Test.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva, pacer Asitha Fernando and spinner Jeffrey Vandersay have also been named in the squad after being ruled out of the second Test against Australia due to Covid.

The forthcoming Test series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka is part of the ICC World Test Championship Cycle 2021-23, with the first Test scheduled from July 16 to 20 at Galle while the second Test will be played at Colombo from July 24 to 28.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Test team are currently in Sri Lanka and were engaged in a three-day warm-up game against SLC Xl which ended in a draw.


Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc, wk), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, and Yasir Shah.

READ: Ahsan Ramzan reaches quarter-finals of Snooker event in World Games