Liton, Mushfiq fightback to put Bangladesh in control

CHITTAGONG: Pakistan, Bangladesh lock horns in the first test of their ongoing series.

Bangladesh’s middle order batters, Liton Das and Mushfiqur Rahim roared back as they added 102 runs in the second session of the first test. Both batters had huge responsibility on their shoulders when their side was in trouble as Bangladesh were restricted by Pakistan’s bowlers in the first session and they were 4-49. Das 62 (136) and Mushfiq 55 (122) are still standing firm on the crease and will be hoping to extend their partnership in the final session.

Earlier, at the toss, Bangladesh skipper Mominul Haque won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, Bangladesh batters found themselves struggling as Shaheen Shah Afridi dismissed the opener Saif Hasan’s for just 14 and set the momentum. Hasan, then also joined him as he trapped Shadman Hossain leg-before for 14. Soon after, Pakistan’s spinner Sajid Khan joined the party as he removed the skipper at six runs. Faheem also managed to get a wicket as he dismissed Najmul Hossain.

Right handed batsman Abdullah Shafique made his test debut today for pakistan. Whereas, Bangladesh’s Yasir Ali also made his debut.

Playing XI: 

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain, wicketkeeper), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Bangladesh: Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Abu Jayed Chowdhury, Yasir Ali, Mahmudul Hasan, Rejaur Rahman.

READ: Pakistan’s 12 for first Test against Bangladesh