India announce ‘second-string’ squad for Sri Lanka series, Dhawan to lead

Karachi: Shikhar Dhawan was named captain of a second-string Indian side which includes a host of local performers for the limited-overs series in Sri Lanka next month.
India will play three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches in the island nation starting July 13 in Colombo, according to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).
The Indian Test team led by Virat Kohli are in England to face New Zealand for the World Test Championship final between June 18-22 and then stay on for a five-Test series against the hosts.
Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Varun Chakravarthy have been named in the 20-member squad. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson have been picked as wicketkeepers.
Dhawan will be assisted by fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has been named vice-captain.
The final two ODI matches will be played on July 16 and 18 followed by the three T20 games on July 21, 23, and 25.
Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya
Net bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh