Rashid bags fifer as Qalandars beat Zalmi by 10 runs

ABU DHABI: Shoaib Malik showed a real fight in the center but Lahore Qalandars managed to beat Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs in 17th match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6. 
Umaid Asif’s cameo created a bit of suspense in the end as he struck Shaheen Shah Afridi for two sixes but the left-arm pacer managed to defend 24 runs off his last over.

Rashid Khan was unplayable for today with his leg-spin as he took five wickets while conceding 20 runs in his four overs.

Earlier, Tim David and Ben Dunk rescued Qalandars to 170/8 after Zalmi dented them to 25-4 within eight overs.
The duo scored 81 runs together to take their team from paltry 25-4 to 106-4 in 15.4 overs.
Sent into bat first, Qalandars lost opener Fakhar Zaman who was cleaned up with a deadly yorker by Wahab Riaz in the first over of the inning. Mohammad Irfan and Mohammad Imran joined the skipper to take Sohail Akhtar and Mohammad Faizan in quick successions.
But, it was the day of Dunk and David who fire-powered Zalmi bowlers and helped Qalandars to reach a compatible total. Dunk got out after scoring 48 off 33 laced with three sixes and two boundaries.

David scored his maiden PSL half-century and remained unbeaten for 63 off 35 spread over five sixes and three boundaries.

James Faulkner made a quick 22 with the help of two sixes and a boundary.
Fabian Allen bagged two wickets while Wahab, Irfan, Imran, and Umaid Asif bagged a wicket each.
Set to chase 171 runs, Zalmi opened their batting with Kamran Akmal and Haider Ali. But, openers failed to provide a strong start to their team and fell for the sum of 5. Malik and David Miller scored 51 runs to rescue Zalmi.

Miller fell in the 10th over after scoring 21 runs, leaving the responsibility on experienced Malik. The veteran batter scored 73 runs off 48 balls laced with seven boundaries and four sixes.

Umaid struck three sixes to score quick 23 runs off 12 balls. Apart from Rashid, James Faulkner bagged two wickets while Haris Rauf took a wicket for Qalandars.
Zalmi won the toss and decided to bowl first
Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohail Akhtar, Mohammad Faizan, Ben Dunk, Tim David, James Faulkner, Rashid Khan, Ahmed Daniyal, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf
Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, David Miller, Rovman Powell, Sherfane Rutherford, Fabian Allen, Wahab Riaz, Umaid Asif, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Imran