Head suffers injury, Maxwell returns to Australia squad for Sri Lanka tour

MELBOURNE: Australia’s all-rounder Glenn Maxwell has been added to the Australia squad for their upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka as the left-hander Travis Head is sidelined due to a hamstring injury.

Maxwell, who last played for Australia in the longest format of the game five years, can make a surprising return to the format as he has been called to join the injury-hit touring side for the forthcoming Test series.

Maxwell is poised to make his return to Test cricket on Wednesday in Galle with Travis Head questionable and Ashton Agar virtually out of the first Test of the series.

While Agar is dealing with a side strain and has designated the second Test as the earliest possible return date, left-handed batter Head suffered a hamstring injury earlier this week in the ODI series.

Apart from Maxwell, Mitch Marsh and Josh Inglis are the other candidates to fill up Head’s No. 5 spot if the latter fails to recover in time.

Furthermore, according to cricket.com.au, Jon Holland, Matthew Kuhnemann and Todd Murphy will all remain in Sri Lanka in order to assist the Test match preparations and to adapt to the experience of playing in the subcontinent.

It is pertinent to mention here that Australia will take on Sri Lanka in two Tests from June 29 to July 12.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Mohamed Shiraz, Shiran Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshitha Rasanjana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, Suminda Lakshan

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Test Series Schedule

June 29 – July 3: First Test, Galle
July 8-12: Second Test, Galle

READ: Three men charged over gunpoint robbery of Amir Khan: English Media