Web Analytics

Hosts Zimbabwe announce squad for Cricket World Cup Qualifier

More articles

HARARE: Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Friday, unveiled a strong 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier, scheduled to take place from June 18 to July 9.

The hosts have opted to name a side full of experienced internationals, with wicketkeeper-batter Joylord Gumbie being the only uncapped member in the squad.

They will have all the big names available at their disposal in their bid to qualify for the tournament later in the year in India, with Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Sean Williams and skipper Craig Ervine all selected.

Quicks Blessing Muzarabani and Richard Ngarava will lead the pace attack for the hosts and will be complemented by Wellington Masakadza.

Other regulars like Bradley Evans, Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe and Innocent Kaia are also included in the 15-member squad.

Notably, ZC arranged a six-match One-Day series against Pakistan Shaheens last month to help Zimbabwe fine-tune for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023 that will be staged across four venues in Harare and Bulawayo.

In a bid to prepare for the upcoming qualifiers, ZC retained almost all players who were part of the Zimbabwe squad that faced the Netherlands in March, for the 50-over series against Pakistan Shaheens.

The hosts made the most of their home conditions and benefitted from the experience of their first-choice players to seal the six-match series 4-2 against Pakistan Shaheens.

The hosts have been included in Group A and will open up their tournament against Nepal on June 18. They will then face off against the Netherlands and West Indies before ending their group-stage commitments against the USA on June 26.

The top three teams from both groups will qualify for the Super Six, with the two finalists progressing to the showpiece tournament scheduled to be held later in the year in India.

Zimbabwe Squad: Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Bradley Evans, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams.

WATCH: Shaheen Shah Afridi smashes Bracewell for four sixes in T20 Blast

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories