Tayyab, Khushdil set second consecutive win for SP in National T20 Cup

LAHORE: Tayyab Tahir and Khushdil Shah set the perfect tone for Southern Punjab (SP) to beat Central Punjab (CP) by six wickets, registering their second consecutive victory in National T20 Cup. 

Tayyab and Khushdil partnered strongly for struggling SP and scored 92 runs together for a winning cause. Tayyab smashed 68 runs including eight boundaries and two sixes whereas Khushdil made 51 laced with eight boundaries after they were set to chase 155 runs in 20 overs.

Mohammad Imran Randhawa made 24 runs.

For CP, Waqas Maqsood bagged two wickets while Faheem Ashraf and Zafar Gohar bagged a wicket each.

Earlier, left-arm pacer Zia-ul-Haq bagged four wickets to help SP restrict (CP) to 154-9 in 21st match of the event.

In an important game for SP who are almost out of the tournament, Zia led the bowling unit from the front. CP was speechless in front of him as they kept losing wickets after regular intervals.

Hussain Talat captured the limelight with the bat by scoring 68 runs off 47 balls including six boundaries and three sixes. Shoaib Malik made 26 runs that included a boundary and six.

Apart from Zia, Aamer Yamin and Mohammad Imran Randhawa bagged two wickets each while Naseem Shah managed to take a wicket.

READ: Malik becomes third batter to score 11,000 runs in T20 cricket