ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 kicks off March 4 in New Zealand

DUBAI: ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is all set to start from 4th March in New Zealand, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced on Wednesday.

The host of the event, New Zealand will face off West Indies at Bay Oval, in the opener.

Pakistan will face their arch-rivals, India on 6th March at the same venue. Whereas, the defending champions, England will face their arch-rivals, Australia, a day ago.

The Semi Finals of the event will be played on 30th and 31st March, respectively. The final will be played on 3rd April at Hagley Oval.

Eight cricketing nations will be participating in the event. All the teams would compete in seven matches, the top four teams on the points table will go ahead in Semi Finals.

Taking to Twitter, the ICC shared the schedule of the event.

“Eight of the world’s best converge on New Zealand for CWC22! Who will lift the trophy on April 3?,” the Cricket Council wrote.


Pakistan, Bangladesh, and West Indies were the last teams to book their place into the event, following the cancellation of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier due to COVID related concerns. The teams qualified on the basis of the better rankings.


06th March – Pakistan vs India
08th March – Pakistan vs Australia
11th March – Pakistan vs South Africa
14th March – Pakistan vs Bangladesh
21st March – Pakistan vs West Indies
24th March – Pakistan vs England
26th March – Pakistan vs New Zealand

READ: Women’s World Cup Qualifiers called off, better-ranked Pakistan qualify