Web Analytics

Wanindu Hasaranga comes out of Test retirement for Bangladesh Tests

More articles

COLOMBO: Sri Lanka’s all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga has come out of Test retirement and was subsequently named in the squad for the upcoming two-match series against Bangladesh.

Hasaranga, who announced to hang up his boots from Test cricket last year, has returned to the fold for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) series against Bangladesh, scheduled to commence on March 22.

The leg-spin all-rounder will link up with Prabath Jayasuriya, Ramesh Mendis and all-rounders Nishan Peiris and Kamindu Mendis to form a strong spin bowling for Sri Lanka.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

All-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva, who was named Sri Lanka’s Test captain earlier this year, will continue to lead the side with wicketkeeper batter Kusal Mendis as his deputy.

The two-match Test series between hosts Bangladesh and Sri Lanka begins on March 22 in Sylhet with the second Test in Chittagong from March 30.

It is pertinent to mention that the two sides engaged in a three-match each T20I and ODI series.

The visitors sealed the T20I series 2-1 while the ODI series was won by the hosts.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dhananjaya De Silva (c), Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Nishan Madushka, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Udara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Prabath Jayasuriya, Ramesh Mendis, Nishan Peiris, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Chamika Gunasekara.

Bangladesh squad for first Test: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Zakir Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shadman Islam, Litton Kumer Das, Mominul Haque Showrab, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mushfik Hasan, Nahid Rana.

READ: Mushfiqur Rahim mocks Angelo Mathews with timed-out celebration

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories