Verstappen holds off Hamilton at Mexican GP to set F1 season wins record

MEXICO CITY: Max Verstappen of Red Bull won the Mexico City Grand Prix with ease and sheer dominance, breaking the previous record of the most number of victories in a season.

With his 14th win this year out of 20 races, Verstappen has surpassed the tally previously held by Michael Schumacher, who sealed 13 wins from 18 races in 2004 and Sebastian Vettel, who took 13 from 19 in 2013. Verstappen has reached the landmark with two races still left.

The double-world champion also clinched the record for the most points in a season with his thumping win on Sunday.

The world champion held off a challenge from Lewis Hamilton in the first part of the race before pulling away leaving the Mercedes driver to fend off Sergio Perez for the runners-up spot.

“I never thought I would be able to win 14 races in a year, I am incredibly proud,” he said. “We’re definitely enjoying it and we’ll try to go for more.”

After a race that was devoid of any real thrills and entirely focused on tyre strategy, Red Bull’s Perez came in third ahead of Mercedes’ George Russell in front of his jubilant home crowd.

Mercedes’ bet on taking hard rubber over Red Bull’s medium apparently looked convincing strategy but, with the degradation not as severe as expected, they remained hapless to take down the world champion.

George Russell finished fourth for Mercedes while Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc took fifth and sixth position for Ferrari. Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris were seventh and ninth for McLaren, Esteban Ocon eighth for Alpine and Valtteri Bottas 10th for Alfa Romeo.

READ: T20 WC: Finch, bowlers shine as Australia ease past Ireland