Islamabad United registers five-wicket win over Multan Sultans

ABU DHABI: Islamabad United has defeated Multan Sultans in the 30th and final pool match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season six.
The table-toppers chased down the target of 150 in the last over with five wickets to spare. Both teams will now take on each other in Qualifier 1 tomorrow at 9.00 pm.
Earlier, United bowled out Multan Sultans for 149 despite a strong 93-runs opening partnership.
Sent into bat first, Sultans’ openers Shan Masood and Mohammad Rizwan stood firm at the crease and scored 93 runs together for their team. Masood scored his second PSL fifty, scoring 59 off 37 balls laced with six boundaries and three sixes. Rizwan made 26 with the help of four boundaries.
The departure of openers put Sultans under pressure as United got rid of their middle-order batting. Sohaib Maqsood (12) and Johnson Charles (19) were the only two other batters who entered double figures.
Mohammad Waseem Jr bagged four wickets while Fawad Ahmed and Faheem Ashraf took two wickets each. Shadab Khan and Iftikhar Ahmed shared a wicket apiece.
Chasing a target of 150 runs, wicketkeeper Muhammad Akhlaq opened the innings and scored a quick-fire 26-run knock in 15 balls, powered by three fours and two sixes. Akhlaq was removed emerging star and leading wicket-taker of the competition Shahnawaz Dahani.
Captain Shadab came to bat at number three and stroked two boundaries to pacer Mohammad Umar before smashing a six on the last ball of the sixth over.
Dahani removed Umar Amin for 13 in his second over but Shadab continued to push the scoring rate. He was trapped for lbw by Umar for 35 in the 12th over.
Hussain Talat kept rotating at one end but Asif Ali attacked from the start and reached 25 before being dismissed by Usman Qadir.
Talat (34) was removed in the final over by Blessing Muzarabani, United requiring three from four balls. Inform Iftikhar Ahmed hit the winning runs to take United over the finish line.

READ: Danish Aziz, bowlers lead Karachi Kings to PSL 6 playoffs