Trophy for Women’s League exhibition matches unveiled

RAWALPINDI: The glittering trophy of the upcoming three Women’s League exhibition matches, has been unveiled here at Pindi Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

According to the details, former Pakistan captain Bismah Maroof and experienced all-rounder Nida Dar, who will lead Amazons and Super Women respectively in the upcoming exhibition matches, unveiled the silverware on the sideline of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight.

Both captains Bismah and Nida also interacted with the media in a pre-match conference ahead of today’s PSL 8 fixture between Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators.

Taking to Twitter, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) shared pictures of the two captains posing with the prestigious trophy.

“The two captains pose with the prestigious trophy for the Women’s League exhibition matches,” wrote PCB.


The three exhibition matches will take place on March 8, 10 and 11 at 2 PM and will be followed by the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 games at 7 PM.

Earlier, the PCB also revealed a panel of 11 commentators and two presenters for the three exhibition games.

Sana Mir, Urooj Mumtaz, Marina Iqbal, Waqar Younis, Alan Wilkins, Bazid Khan, Danny Morrison, Daren Ganga, Mark Butcher, Sikandar Bakht and Simon Doull named in the commentary panel, while Zainab Abbas and Erin Holland will be the presenters.

Meanwhile, a total of 10 leading foreign players from seven countries will represent the two teams during the women’s exhibition games – billed as the soft launch of the Pakistan Women’s League, tentatively planned for September.

Ireland’s Laura Delany, England’s trio of Lauren Winfield-Hill, Maia Bouchier and Tammy Beaumont, and Australia’s Tess Flintoff are part of Amazons.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu, Danni Wyatt of England, Jahanara Alam of Bangladesh, South Africa’s Laura Wolvaardt and Lea Tahuhu of New Zealand represents Super Women.

READ: Aiden Markram replaces Temba Bavuma as South Africa T20I captain