Web Analytics

Trophy for Pakistan-West Indies T20I series unveiled

More articles

KARACHI: The trophy for the five-match T20I series between Pakistan and West Indies women was unveiled here at National Bank Stadium on Thursday.

The glittering trophy was unveiled by Pakistan captain Nida Dar and her West Indies counterpart Hayley Matthews ahead of their pre-series press conference.

The T20I matches are scheduled to begin at 7:30 pm, with the toss taking place at 7:00 pm. The second T20I will take place on 28 April, while the third T20I will commence on 30 April.

The fourth and fifth T20Is are scheduled for 2 and 3 May, respectively.

Pakistan captain Dar acknowledged that the national team is “disappointed” with the outcome of the ODI series but expressed her hope to rectify the errors and continue their winning streak against West Indies in the shortest format.

“We are obviously disappointed with the performances in the ODI series and our goal is to rectify our mistakes and put up a strong performance in the upcoming T20I series,” stated Dar.

“As a team, we understand the importance of this series, especially in a World Cup year. In recent times, we have shown good results in the shortest format by winning T20I series against South Africa and New Zealand, and we would like to continue the winning streak against the West Indies as well,” she added.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

West Indies captain Matthews, on the other hand, was eager that the touring side would carry their form in the T20I series.

“The squad and management are delighted with the results in the ODI series and we are eager to continue this in the T20I series. We all know that Pakistan are a competitive side in the T20I format, considering their bowling strength, as well as a number of match winning players in the format.

“I am satisfied with my all-round performance in the ODI series, and will try to carry this form into the T20I series to help the team win matches.”

Pakistan Women T20I squad: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Rameen Shamim, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Tuba Hassan and Umm-e-Hani.

West Indies Women’s white-ball squad: Hayley Matthews (captain), Shemaine Campbelle (vice-captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Afy Fletcher, Chedean Nation, Cherry Ann Fraser, Chinelle Henry, Jannillea Glasgow, Karishma Ramharack, Kate Wilmott, Qiana Joseph, Rashada Williams, Shamilia Connell, Stafanie Taylor and Zaida James.

READ: New Zealand edge Pakistan to take unassailable lead

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories