T20 World Cup: Shadab, Shaheen feature in ICC Team of the Tournament

DUBAI: Pakistan all-rounder Shadab Khan and the team’s bowling mainstay Shaheen Shah Afridi has been included in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Team of the Tournament.

According to International Cricket Council, four players from England, two from India and one each from Zimbabwe, South Africa and New Zealand also featured in the select XI, following their sensational performances in the recently concluded T20 World Cup.

Pakistan finished as runner-up in the mega-event after they lost to England in the final on Sunday at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Shadab was selected for the team of the tournament for his brilliance in every department of the game.

“Pakistan’s spin-bowling all-rounder was superb in all facets of the game. In the field he set the standard for this team, and with the bat he scored fast down the order, with his 98 runs coming at a strike rate of 168.96.” ICC stated in a media release.

But it was with the ball where Shadab Khan truly excelled. He took 11 wickets at an average of 15, with his economy rate of 6.34 keeping things tight for Pakistan through the middle overs.”

Shaheen Afridi, who arrived at the megaevent just after recovering from a knee injury, looked out of touch at first, but as the tournament progressed, he showed his dominance to the world and played crucial role in the Green Shirts’ World Cup campaign.

“Fitness concerns saw Shaheen Shah Afridi ease himself into the tournament, and a setback in the final forced him to be unable to bowl his final two overs of the competition in unfortunate circumstances.” ICC media release stated

“But the Pakistan strike bowler stepped up when his team needed him to as the tournament got to its crunch point. His removal of Finn Allen set the tone in a brilliant opening spell against New Zealand in the semi-final, and a trademark inswinger did for Alex Hales in the first over of the final. There is no bowler in the world right now that you’d rather have taking that new ball in a T20 International.” the statement added.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Team of the Tournament: 

  1. Alex Hales (England)

2. Jos Buttler (c/wk) (England)

3. Virat Kohli (India)

4. Suryakumar Yadav (India)

5. Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)

6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

7. Shadab Khan (Pakistan)

8. Sam Curran (England)

9. Anrich Nortje (South Africa)

10. Mark Wood (England)

11. Shaheen Shah Afridi (Pakistan)

READ: Dar shines as Pakistan Women defeat Ireland to level T20 series