Sri Lanka thump Namibia by seven wickets

Abu Dhabi: 2014 T20 World Cup winners Sri Lanka have claimed an easy seven-wicket win over Namibia here at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Sri Lanka chased down the 97-run target in the 14th over after wrapping up Namibia for 96 in 19.3 overs.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa led the chase by scoring 42 off 27 balls while Avishka Fernando made 30 off 28 balls. Both added 74 runs after Sri Lanka was struggling 26/3 in 5.1 overs. Ruben Trumpelmann, Bernard Scholtz and JJ Smit claimed a wicket each for Namibia.

Earlier, Sri Lanka dominated completely after skipper Dasun Shanaka opted to field first. Only three Namibian batters crossed the double-figure mark.Craig Williams scored 29 off 36 while captain Gerhard Erasmus made 19. JJ Smit chipped in with 15-ball 12.

Off-spinner Maheesh Theekshana starred with the ball as he bagged figures of 3/25 while Wanindu Hasaranga and Lahiru Kumara claimed two wickets each. Pacers Chamika Karunaratne and Dushmantha Chameera also took a wicket each.

Read: Ireland beat Netherlands comfortably followed by Campher’s heroics