Web Analytics

Sri Lanka squad departs for USA to partake in T20 World Cup 2024

More articles

COLOMBO: The Sri Lanka cricket team departed for the United States of America (USA) on Tuesday to participate in the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, commencing on June 1.

Sri Lanka are the first team to leave for the mega event, however, star spinner Maheesh Theekshana is not travelling with the squad, owing to his commitment to IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings.

The squad features a blend of experienced and young players and will be led by star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga.

Sri Lanka opted to rely on the experience of veteran Angelo Mathews, who made his T20I comeback in January after being away from the setup for nearly three years.

Notably, this will be Mathews’ sixth T20 World Cup appearance. He was also a part of Sri Lanka’s victorious campaign in 2014.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Besides the experience, Sri Lanka emphasised on the team balance and thus picked multiple all-rounders in their squad for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Skipper Hasaranga is one of the spin-bowling all-rounders beside Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Kamindu Mendis. Whereas, Matthews and Dasun Shanaka are the pace-bowling all-rounders.

Right-arm pacer Dushmantha Chameera will spearhead Sri Lanka’s pace bowling attack which features Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Thushara.

Sri Lanka are placed in Group D of the T20 World Cup 2024 alongside South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal.

The former champions will kick start their campaign on June 3 against South Africa in New York.

Sri Lanka squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka

Traveling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage.

READ: Kylian Mbappe wins award for France’s player of the year

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories