Southern Punjab end National T20 Cup campaign with win over KP

Lahore: Southern Punjab have ended their National T20 Cup campaign with an 11-run win over Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) in the 27th match of the National T20 Cup.

While defending 194, SP restricted KP to 182/6 in 20 overs. KP moved to the third spot after this loss with one match remaining.

Earlier, SP posted 193/6 after KP opted to bowl first. Tayyab Tahir was SP’s mainstay as he smashed 78 off 48 balls, powered by eight fours and three sixes.

Azam Khan and skipper Aamer Yamin later starred with a quick-fire 25 and 24 respectively. KP’s Imran Khan and Niaz Khan bagged two wicket each.

KP lost three wickets early in the chase, however, Kamran Ghulam and Nabi Gul put them back into the game.

SP put extra pressure on KP and eventually partnership was broken by Yamin by rattling Kamran’s stumps. Kamran scored 33-ball 46 while Nabi made 31-ball 54.

KP’s captain Iftikhar tried to produce heroics but it was too much to ask for. He remained not out on 33. Mohammad Ilyas with his pace bagged two wickets.

Read: Northern confirm semi-final spot with thrilling last over win