Web Analytics

Eight South Africa venues confirmed for ICC Men’s World Cup 2027

More articles

Eight notable cricket stadiums in South Africa including Wanderers, Kingsmead and Newlands have been shortlisted as venues for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2027, the country’s renowned news outlet News24 reported Wednesday.

The 16th edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup, scheduled to run across October and November in 2027 will be co-hosted by South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.

Meanwhile, Pholetsi Moseki, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Cricket South Africa (CSA) in an interview with the aforementioned news outlet, explained various logistics behind the selection of certain venues for the mega event.

“The exercise (of choosing the venues) was a scientific one and also included the number of hotel rooms and the availability of an airport. If there was disappointment, it was also tempered by the reality that was based on the venues that were chosen,” Moseki was quoted as saying.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Moseki then acknowledged that it was a challenging call for the cricketing body to leave out three ICC-accredited venues Benoni, JB Marks Oval, and Diamond Oval.

“We do indeed have 11 ICC-accredited venues, so it was hard to leave out three, but a whole lot of things were taken into consideration.

“There’s also the important matter of training venues outside of the ones available at the venue, Moseki added while explaining the exclusion of the venues in Benoni, JB Marks Oval, and Diamond Oval.

It is worth mentioning here that hosts South Africa and Zimbabwe have already earned direct qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2027 but the third co-host Namibia will have to go through the African qualifiers.

A total of 14 teams will participate in the upcoming 50-over World Cup, which will be divided into two groups.

The top three teams from each group will then advance to the Super Six stage.

The top four teams after the conclusion of the Super Six stage will reach the semi-finals, followed by the grand finale.

READ: “Mohammad Rizwan is better than me,” says Sarfaraz Ahmed

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories