Web Analytics

South Africa announce ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad

More articles

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to run from June 1 to 29 in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

Aiden Markram will lead South Africa in the T20 World Cup, which will be his first ICC event as captain after being appointed last year.

Star fast bowler Anrich Nortje returned to the squad and is set to make his international comeback during the tournament after a nine-month hiatus due to an injury.

Meanwhile, uncapped opening batter Ryan Rickelton and seamer Ottniel Baartman have also earned their maiden call-ups on the back of their impressive performance during SA20.

Rickelton ended the tournament as the highest run-scorer with 530 runs at an average of 58.88 and a tremendous strike rate of 173.77.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

On the other hand, Baartman was the second-highest wicket-taker in SA20 with 18 wickets at an average of 11.77.

Wicket-keeper batter Quinton de Kock also returned to the squad after being left out of the CSA’s central contract recently.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will kick off on June 1 with co-hosts USA taking on neighbouring country Canada.

South Africa will commence their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Sri Lanka on June 3 in New York.

South Africa squad

Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Tristan Stubbs.

Travelling reserves: Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi.

READ: Robert Lewandowski’s hat-trick powers Barcelona to victory over Valencia

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories