Web Analytics

SNGPL beat HEC to win President’s Cup Grade-I

More articles

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) beat the Higher Education Commission (HEC) by eight wickets to win the final of the President’s Cup Grade-I 2023-24 at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday.

Haseebullah compiled his eighth List A century to drive SNGPL’s flawless chase of the 190-run target. The left-handed opening batter hit an undefeated 101 off 79 deliveries featuring 13 boundaries and three maximums as his side scaled the target inside 26.3 overs.

Abdullah Shafique (36, 46b, 3x4s, 1×6) and Omair Bin Yousuf (26, 19b, 3x4s, 1×6) were the only SNGPL batters to be dismissed while Saud Shakeel (20 not out, 15b, 2x4s, 1×6) accompanied Haseebullah till the end of the game.

Mohammad Junaid and Aqib Liaqat claimed a wicket each, giving away 39 and 44 runs respectively.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Earlier, HEC stumbled and failed to post an imposing total owing to regular blows. Six batters were sent back to the hut before HEC crossed the 100-run mark, following which they were reduced to 129-7 in 31.5 overs.

The lower-order showed some resistance with Muhammad Ghazi Ghori top-scoring with 30 off 49 balls while Shahid Aziz (25, 20b, 1×4, 2x6s), and Waseem Akram (20, 27b, 2x4s) also chipped in with small contributions.

Bilawal Bhatti was SNGPL’s most prolific bowler in the President’s Cup final with figures of 3-37, and the trio of Mohammad Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani and Yasir Shah took two wickets each to skittle HEC for 189 in 45.4 overs.

READ: Shahid Afridi lauds Pakistan batters’ strike rates in second Ireland T20I

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories