T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka thrash Netherlands by eight wickets

T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka beat Netherlands by eight wickets

SHARJAH: Sri Lanka registered a massive eight-wicket win over Netherlands in the last Qualifying Round match of the T20 World Cup played here at Sharjah on Friday.

Batting first, Netherlands have set a 45-run target for Sri Lanka in the final round-one match of the Twenty20 World Cup.

In reply, Sri Lanka lost two wickets before Kusal Perera, on 33, and Avishka Fernando, on two, steered the team home in 7.1 overs.

With this win, Sri Lanka moved into the Super 12 stage with three wins and top of their group. Sri Lanka joins England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and Bangladesh in Group 1 of the Super 12s.

Netherlands’ innings

Asked to bat first, the Netherlands had a horrible start with Sir Lankan bowlers Lahiru Kumara and Wanindu Hasaranga de Silva removing the top six batters for just 37 runs.

Leg spinner Wanindu Hasranga and seamer Lahiru Kumara picked three wickets each as Netherlands all out for 44 runs in just 10 overs.

By the end of the fifth over, the Netherlands had half their side back in the hut.

Kumara returned to clean up the tail and claim T20 best figures of 3-7 with his pace bowling.

The Dutch were bowled out for 39 in a T20 World Cup match against Sri Lanka in 2014.

Earlier, Sri Lanka have decided to field first after winning the toss against the Netherlands in last Qualifying Round match of the T20 World Cup.

Remember, Sri Lanka have already qualified for the mega event from Group A. The other three qualifiers are Namibia, Bangladesh and Scotland. T20 World Cup’s Super 12s event is scheduled to start tomorrow.

Playing XI:

Netherlands: Max O’Dowd, Stephan Myburgh, Ben Cooper, Colin Ackerman, Bas de Leede, Scott Edwards, Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelar (captain), Fred Klaassen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Perera, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(captain), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara.