Web Analytics

Shahnawaz Dahani lits up President’s Trophy with career-best figures, hat-trick

More articles

Shahnawaz Dahani registered his best bowling figures in first-class cricket and also made headlines with a brilliant hat-trick on his way to a six-wicket haul in the third round of the President’s Trophy.

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines’ (SNGPL) decision to bowl first against State Bank of Pakistan (SBP), paid dividends as they bundled out SBP for a modest total in 59.1 overs.

Dahani took a career-best haul of 6-40 in a fiery spell that included a hat-trick as well. Umar Amin (48, 97b, 4x4s) top-scored while Zain Abbas (36, 84b, 4x4s) and Muhammad Irfan Khan (32, 66b, 4x4s) departed after showcasing some resistance.

Shahnawaz Dahani’s hat-trick broke the back of SBP’s innings as he reduced them to 133-7. Mohammad Awais Anwar struck twice while Bilawal Bhatti and Mohammad Ali picked a wicket each.

SBP bowlers, Mohammad Ilyas and Sameen Gul, struck regular blows with the new ball to leave Sui Northern Gas Pipelines 48-4 after being dismissed for 170 earlier in the day.

Asad Shafiq (4 not out, 24b, 1×4) and Bilawal (2 not out, 10b) will be on the crease for SNGPL at the start of day two.

Khan Research Laboratories (KRL) notched the second-highest total of the President’s Trophy as they raced to 411 for the loss of seven wickets in 80 overs.

20-year-old Abdul Faseeh (153, 171b, 15x4s, 6x6s) scored his fourth first-class hundred and set the tone of the KRL innings.

Sharoon Siraj (64, 74b, 4x4s, 3x6s) and Waqar Ahmed (60, 79b, 12x4s, 1×6) chipped in with valuable half-centuries. Maaz Sadaqat (46, 45b, 3x4s, 1×6) helped KRL breach the 400-run mark.

Mohammad Azab bagged three wickets while Waseem Akram, Aarish Ali Khan and Mohammad Junaid picked up one apiece.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Higher Education Commission (HEC) closed the day with 41-1 as Arshadullah dismissed Jahanzaib Sultan (4, 5b, 1×4) early on. Saad Khan (21 not out, 25b, 3x4s) and Mohammad Huraira (14 not out, 19b, 2x4s) saw off the day as HEC trailed by 370 runs.

Ghani Glass found themselves in the driving seat on day one of the third round of the President’s Trophy as they posted 319 for the loss of nine wickets in the allotted 80 overs.

In reply, Pakistan Television (PTV) lost two wickets in just 1.5 overs without a single run on the board. Shoaib Akhtar removed Hasan Nawaz and Mohammad Junaid for ducks before stumps were drawn.

PTV opted to bowl first and reduced Ghani Glass to 48-4 in the first session. Later in the day, the tide turned in favour of Ghani Glass as Saad Nasim (150, 198b, 21x4s, 1×6) took the team out of the trouble on the way to his 10th first-class hundred.

Skipper Hussain Talat (49, 66b, 7x4s, 1×6) and Shahbaz Javed (45, 78b, 6x4s) contributed with vital runs as well. Mohammad Rameez Jnr (15 not out, 24b, 2x4s) helped Ghani Glass cross the 300-run mark.

Mohammad Sadaqat picked up three wickets while Adil Naz struck with the new ball to bag two wickets. Hasan Mohsin, Uzair Mumtaz, Israr Hussain and Mohammad Junaid dismissed a batter each.

READ: Hasan Ali gets MCG crowd ‘moving’ in Boxing Day Test

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories