Web Analytics

Virender Sehwag, Aravinda de Silva, Diana Edulji go into ICC Hall of Fame

More articles

India’s Virender Sehwag, Sri Lankan batsman Aravinda de Silva and pioneering Indian women’s captain Diana Edulji have been inducted into the International Cricket Council (ICC) Hall of Fame, the game’s governing body announced Monday.

They will be honoured at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai during the World Cup semi-final between India and New Zealand on Wednesday.

The International Cricket Council has recognised 109 players in the ICC Cricket Hall Of Fame since its launch in 2009.

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP

De Silva, 58, enjoyed a 19-year international career for Sri Lanka, playing a starring role in their memorable World Cup triumph in 1996.

In 93 Tests, he scored 6,361 runs at an average of 42.97 and collected 9,284 runs from 308 ODIs while taking 106 wickets.

De Silva made his Test debut at Lord’s in 1984, and a year later scored 75 as Sri Lanka recorded its first-ever Test win against India.

In 1991, he struck a then-national record individual score of 267 against New Zealand at Wellington.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Virender Sehwag, 45, played a key part in India’s World Cup winning campaign at home in 2011, and scored over 17,000 runs in international cricket during a stellar 14-year career.

He transformed the opener’s role in Test cricket through his trademark explosive approach to batting.

Edulji, who became the first Indian woman to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, played a pioneering role in establishing the most successful domestic team in Indian women’s cricket history.

A right-handed batter and slow left-arm bowler, Edulji took 109 wickets in Test and ODIs.

When she retired after the World Cup in 1993, she had taken more wickets in international cricket than anyone except Australia’s Lyn Fullston.

“These three figures have revolutionised the sport in their own way, and have provided fans with some of the most unforgettable moments in recent memory,” ICC chief executive Geoff Allardice said in a statement.

“Their lasting contributions to cricket mean they are richly deserving of their status in the ICC Hall of Fame.”

READ: 2009 T20 World Cup-winning team to celebrate historic victory in US

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories