Web Analytics

India make one change in ICC World Cup 2023 squad

More articles

Hosts India on Thursday, made a forced change to their already-announced squad for the ICC World Cup 2023 as Ravichandran Ashwin replaced Axar Patel.

Left-arm spinner Axar Patel, who suffered a strain to his left quadriceps amid India’s ACC Men’s Asia Cup 2023 fixture against Bangladesh, failed to recuperate in time for the ICC World Cup 2023.

The all-rounder was consequently replaced by experienced Ravichandran Ashwin for the mega event.

Notably, Ashwin made a timely comeback to ODI cricket in the recently concluded home series against Australia, taking four wickets in two matches.

Prior to that, the experienced all-rounder last played an ODI in January 2022.

Ravichandran Ashwin will serve as India’s lone specialist off-spinner in their 15-member squad, and one of just two players, along with star batsman Virat Kohli, who featured in India’s World Cup-winning run in 2011.

The rest of the India squad remained the same and their skipper Rohit Sharma emphasized that the group was clear about their Final 15 and any changes to that will not disturb their approach.

“When we talk about the 15 we are very clear what we want,” India captain Rohit Sharma said Wednesday after the 2-1 series victory over Australia.

“We are not confused, we know where we are headed as a team.

“It’s a team sport and we want everyone to come and play their part – that’s how we win championships. It’s about looking after the body and try and stay fresh for the next one and half months.”

India’s Squad for ICC World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma (capt), Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

READ: Labuschagne replaces Agar as Australia confirm ICC World Cup 2023 squad

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories