Web Analytics

President’s Trophy set to begin from 16 December

More articles

President’s Trophy is set to begin from 16 December 2023. The first-class tournament will be played till 31 January 2024 across three venues – National Bank Stadium, UBL Sports Complex and SBP Sports Complex – in Karachi. 

Seven departmental teams will play one another in a round-robin format. The tournament will comprise 22 games, which will be divided into seven rounds of league-stage matches and a five-day final between the top two teams from 27 to 31 January 2024.

The President’s Trophy marks the return of departmental cricket in the domestic structure, as was devised after the reinstitution of the PCB 2014 Constitution.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

The last edition of the President’s Trophy was held in the 2018-19 domestic season, which was won by the State Bank of Pakistan.

Departmental cricket will provide players an extra earning opportunity, as they will get to participate in additional tournaments following the conclusion of the regions-based domestic tournament cycle, which included the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy (Winners: Karachi Whites), Pakistan Cup (Winners: Peshawar) and National T20 Cup (Karachi Whites).

The seven teams participating in the tournament are as follows:

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL), Pakistan Television (PTV), State Bank of Pakistan (SBP), Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA), Khan Research Laboratories (KRL), Higher Education Commission (HEC) and Ghani Glass.

Nadeem Khan, Director of Domestic Cricket Operations, said that “the return of departmental cricket will benefit all the stakeholders.”

“We are hoping that the President’s Trophy will bring even more depth and competition to our domestic circuit,” he added.

“We have added HEC and Ghani Glass to this first-class tournament on a probationary basis. We will closely monitor the performances of these two teams in this edition and make decisions about their involvement in the proceeding season based on their competitiveness at the first-class level.”

President’s Trophy 2023 Schedule:

16-19 December:

SNGPL vs Ghani Glass at National Bank Stadium, Karachi
PTV vs SBP at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
KRL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

22-25 December:

PTV vs SNGPL at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi
KRL v Ghani Glass at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
WAPDA vs HEC  at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

28-31 December:

SNGPL vs SBP  at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
Ghani Glass vs PTV at National Bank Stadium, Karachi
KRL vs HEC at  UBL Sports Complex, Karachi

03-06 January:

SNGPL vs KRL at National Bank Stadium, Karachi
Ghani Glass vs HEC at UBL Sports Complex Karachi
SBP vs WAPDA at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi

09-12 January:

SNGPL vs WAPDA at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi
HEC vs PTV at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
SBP vs KRL at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

15-18 January:

WAPDA vs Ghani Glass at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
KRL vs PTV at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi
SBP vs HEC at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

21-24 January:

SNGPL vs HEC at SBP Sports Complex, Karachi
Ghani Glass vs SBP at UBL Sports Complex, Karachi
PTV vs WAPDA at National Bank Stadium, Karachi

27-31 January: Final between the top two teams

Team Squads:

PTV: Muhammad Uzair Mumtaz, Humayun Altaf, Muhammad Shahzad, Muhammad Suleman, Muhammad Hassan Nawaz, Nasir Nawaz, Muhammad Taimoor Khan, Waqar Hussain, Muhammad Junaid, Faisal Akram, Aliyan Mahmood, Ahmad Safi Abdullah, Daniyal Hussain Rajpoot, Adil Naz, Muhammad Ibtisam Rehman, Sudais Ulfat, Israr Hussain, Jahandad Khan, Muhammad Hassan Mohsin, Muhammad Sadaqat

SNGPL: Sahibzada Farhan, Shahzaib Khan, Saim Ayub, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Saud Shakeel, Omair Bin Yousaf, Mubasir Khan, Ali Waqas, Muhammad Rizwan, Haseebullah, Abbas Afridi, Mir Hamza, Muhammad Ali, Muhammad Waseem, Bilawal Bhatti, Awais Anwar, Hunain Shah, Yasir Shah, Mehran Mumtaz

Ghani Glass: Shan Masood, Sharjeel Khan, Kashif Ali, Tayyab Tahir, Mohsin Raza, Farhan Sarfraz, Hussain Talat, Shadab Khan, Saeed Malik, Noman Ali, Muhammad Irfan, Shahbaz Javed, Saad Nasim, Sheraz Khan, Musa Khan, Moeez Ghani, Niaz Khan, Ghulam Mudasir, Ahad Malik, Ghulam Haider

HEC: Muhammad Huraira, Saad Khan, Anas Mustafa, Jahanzaib Sultan, Waseem Akram, Muhammad Awais Zafar, Muhammad Mohsin Khan, Wahaj Riaz, Obaid Shahid, Muhammad Ghazi Ghori, Zaid Bin Nadeem, Aqib Liaquat, Haris Khan, Muhammad Junaid, Umer Lohya, Muhammad Azab, Waseem Akram, Abdul Rehman, Asadullah Hamza, Kashif Ali

KRL: Abdul Faseeh, Ali Zaryab Asif, Muhammad Imran Dogar, Imran Rafiq, Sarmad Bhatti, Muhammad Sharoon Siraj, Waqar Ahmad, Israrullah, Maaz Ahmad Sadaqat, Kashif Ali, Ahmad Bashir, Sirajuddin, Muhammad Imran Jr., Muhammad Amir Khan, Arshadullah, Rohail Nazir, Jamal Anwar, Rohan Qadri, Umar Khan, Shayan Sheikh

WAPDA: Muhammad Saad, Bismillah Khan, Ayaz Tasawar, Umer Abid Kiyani, Khalid Usman, Tahir Hussain, Irfanullah Shah, Ahmad Shahzad, Iftikhar Ahmad, Muhammad Saleem, Umar Akmal, Muhammad Basit Ali, Naqeeb Masood, Muhammad Naveed, Muhammad Arif, Hassan Abid Kiyani, Ali Raza, Ahmad Khan, Asif Afridi, Muhammad Ikhlaq

SBP: Usman Salahuddin, Umar Amin, Agha Salman Ali, Zain Abbas, Rizwan Hussain, Muhammad Mohsin, Rameez Aziz, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Ali Shan, Ameer Hamza, Nisar Ahmad, Kashif Bhatti, Muhammad Imran, Sameen Gul, Zahid Mahmood, Muhammad Ilyas, Ali Usman, Aftab Ibrahim, Muhammad Abbas, Affaq Afridi

READ: PCB signs ICC Champions Trophy hosting rights agreement with ICC

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories