Web Analytics

PCB announces seven-member selection committee without a chairman

More articles

LAHORE: Mohsin Naqvi, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Sunday announced a seven-member National Cricket Selection Committee.

During a press conference, Naqvi announced the reorganised selection committee, with each member having equal powers and no chairman of the committee.

“We have reorganised this selection committee, the committee will consist of seven members, but what is different this time is there will be no chairman selection committee, each member would have the same power as the other one,” Naqvi said.

The former chairman Wahab Riaz is joined by former cricketers Abdul Razzaq, Wahab Riaz and Asad Shafiq in the selection committee. Meanwhile, the captain, head coach and an analyst will also be part of the committee.

“The decision would be [decided] on the majority, they should debate, and talk amongst themselves so a better conclusion can be reached.

“The previous structure of the committee was different, but this one, I assure you every member was chosen after considering multiple factors.

“The selection committee will make all the decisions going forward. I have conveyed that the chairman will not be involved in any decisions regarding the selection.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

“I back this selection committee and believe that they will produce desirable results”

He also announced that the committee would also be responsible for the appointment of the captain.

“The matter of captaincy is being deliberated upon. I believe that the captain is the selection committee’s prerogative,” said Mohsin Naqvi.

“They are working on it and I am sure they will finalise their decision after the camp is completed.”

“I am not a cricket expert, the people sitting next to me are experts. Decisions regarding cricket will be made by cricket experts.”

Notably, PCB dissolved the National Cricket Selection Committee earlier today.

The development came after sources revealed on March 18 that the PCB will further empower the committee with full authority.

The first assignment of the new selection committee is to select the squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand, commencing on 18 April.

READ: ‘Like driving with handbrake on,’ Max Verstappen on Australian Grand Prix exit

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories