Web Analytics

PCB reveals schedule for West Indies women’s tour to Pakistan

More articles

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the schedule for the home series against the West Indies women’s cricket team on Wednesday. 

West Indies are scheduled to arrive in Karachi on 14 April to feature in eight white-ball matches, including three ODIs, which are part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25.

The three ODI matches will be played at the National Bank Stadium (NBS) in Karachi on 18, 21 and 23 April.

The ODI series will be followed by five T20Is, to be played at the same venue on starting from 26 April.

The ODIs are set to begin at 330pm PKT, while the first ball in the T20Is will be bowled at 730pm PKT.

Pakistan women’s team are currently ranked third in the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25, securing 16 points from 18 matches, whereas the West Indies women’s team are positioned at number nine with eight points from 12 outings.

In the ICC Women’s T20I rankings, Pakistan are placed at eighth position, while West Indies occupy the sixth spot.

The forthcoming West Indies women’s team tour to Pakistan will be their second tour since 2021. West Indies last visited Karachi in November 2021 and featured in three ODIs.

The upcoming ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 series will also be the fourth series hosted at home by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Sri Lanka (June 2022), Ireland (November 2022) and South Africa (September 2023) women’s cricket teams have visited Pakistan during this period.

Pakistan’s last series in the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 will be the tour to England taking place in May this year.

“We extend a warm welcome to the West Indies women’s team to Pakistan for the upcoming series,” said Head of Women’s Cricket Tania Mallick.

“Hosting the fourth women’s championship series at home within the 2022-25 cycle is a testament to PCB’s commitment to promoting women’s cricket and providing our players with opportunities to shine on the international stage.

“The forthcoming series against West Indies is not just about cricket; it’s about developing relationships and strengthening bonds between cricketing nations.

“With the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 coming to its conclusion for the Pakistan women’s team, the stakes are higher than ever for the women’s team to qualify directly for the ICC Women’s ODI World Cup.

“The current position of the Pakistan women’s team reflects our determination and dedication, and we aim to collect maximum points from the three championship matches at home.

“Later this year, the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is also taking place. In light of this event and the team’s recent good performances in the shortest format, we have scheduled five T20Is against West Indies. The T20I series will help the selectors finalise the squad for the mega event.”

Series schedule:

14 Apr – West Indies women’s team arrival in Karachi

18 Apr – First ODI at National Bank Stadium (NBS), Karachi (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

21 Apr – Second ODI at NBS (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

23 Apr – Third ODI at NBS (330pm local time) (ICC Women’s Championship)

26 Apr – First T20I at NBS (730pm local time)

28 Apr – Second T20I at NBS (730pm local time)

30 Apr – Third T20I at NBS (730pm local time)

2 May – Fourth T20I at NBS (730pm local time)

3 May – Fifth T20I at NBS (730pm local time)

READ: Wanindu Hasaranga’s return to Test cricket hindered

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories