Web Analytics

Pat Cummins reacts to Mohammad Hafeez’s ‘better than the other team’ remarks

More articles

MELBOURNE: Australia’s captain Pat Cummins to Pakistan Cricket Team Director Mohammad Hafeez remarks regarding the better team of the Boxing Day Test.

The enthralling Boxing Day Test between Pakistan and Australia concluded on the fourth day when Pakistan, in pursuit of 317, bundled out on 237 in the second innings.

The touring side was at one stage in a comfortable position to seal a historic victory when they required a further 100 runs with five wickets in hand.

However, Mohammad Rizwan’s debated dismissal off Pat Cummins opened the floodgates for Pakistan and they collapsed from 219/5 to 237 all out.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Cricket Team Director Mohammad Hafeez not only criticized the umpiring in the Boxing Day Test but also claimed that the touring side played “better than the other team”.

“The whole game, I will sum up, our Pakistan team played better than the other team in general,” stated Hafeez.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Later in the post-match press conference, Pat Cummins reacted to Mohammad Hafeez’s remarks and highlighted the end result with a witty smile.

“Ahhhh. Cool. They played well. I am glad we got the win,” stated Cummins.

“It doesn’t really matter, does it? It is the team who wins at the end,” he added.

For the unversed, Australia took an unassailable 2-0 lead over Pakistan in the three-match Test series with a 79-run victory in the second Test.

The two sides will now square off in the third Test in Sydney, scheduled to commence on January 3.

Australia Test squad

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.

Pakistan Test squad

Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafiq, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Sajid Khan.

READ: Stuart Broad, Marcus Trescothick named in New Year’s Honours

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories