Pakistan’s squad for Junior Cricket World Cup announced, Qasim Akram to lead

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) junior selection committee has announced the 17-men squad for the upcoming World Cup. Which will take place in the West Indies in January-February 2022.

Qasim Akram, an all-rounder, has been named captain of Pakistan’s U19 squad for the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup, which will be held in the West Indies in January-February 2022. Qasim will also captain the same team in the U19 Asia Cup, which will be held later this month in the UAE.

In addition to the final 15 for both tournaments, the squad includes two travelling reserves who will be part of the touring party for both tournaments.

Saleem Jaffer, Chairman of the Junior Selection Committee, stated that he chose the best available players for the event and is confident that the team will perform well for Pakistan in the upcoming event.

“I want to congratulate the 17 players who have made into the squad for the UAE and the West Indies tournaments. I remain confident that this side has the capability and potential to do well in both the upcoming events.” Saleem said.

Saleem claimed that the selection of U19 squads are always challenging and also assured the cricketers who have missed out on selection that their time will come soon.

“The PCB has prepared a robust plan for pathways cricket and I can assure all teenage cricketers who have missed out on selection this time that they will get a chance at some stage down the line.”, he added.

Ijaz Ahmed, the head coach of the Pakistan Shaheens and the U19 team, will lead the support staff on both tours.


Qasim Akram (captain, Central Punjab), Abdul Faseeh (Northern), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai (Balochistan), Ahmed Khan (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Ali Asfand (Central Punjab), Arham Nawab (Central Punjab), Awais Ali (Central Punjab), Faisal Akram (Southern Punjab), Haseebullah (wicketkeeper, Balochistan), Irfan Khan Niazi (Central Punjab), Maaz Sadaqat (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Mehran Mumtaz (Northern)
Mohammad Shehzad (Southern Punjab), Rizwan Mehmood (Sindh) and Zeeshan Zameer (Sindh)

Travelling reserves: Ghazi Ghori (wicketkeeper, Sindh), Mohammad Zeeshan (Central Punjab).

Support staff: Ijaz Ahmed (Head coach), Rao Iftikhar Anjum (Bowling coach), Mohtashim Rasheed (Fielding coach), Mohammad Javed (Strength and Conditioning coach), Waleed Ahmed (Analyst), Hafiz Naeem-ul-Rasool (physiotherapist) and Taimur Azam (Manager).

READ: Gurbaz leads Delhi Bulls to a thumping victory in the T10 League