Web Analytics

Pakistan vs South Africa: South Africa end Pakistan’s jinx in World Cups

More articles

Pakistan vs South Africa World Cup 2023


270 (46.4)

South Africa

271/9 (47.2)

South Africa win by one wicket 


Set to chase 271, South Africa’s number nine Keshav Maharaj scored the winning boundary off Mohammad Nawaz on the second delivery of the 48th over.

South African openers Quinton de Kock and Temba Bavuma gave their side a brisk start by scoring 30 runs in the first two overs.

Ace pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi spoiled South Africa’s flying start as he got rid of in-form de Kock in the fourth over. The left-handed opener scored a 14-ball 24, hitting five boundaries.

Aiden Markram then joined Bavuma in the middle and the pair shared a 33-run stand before the Proteas captain perished in the 10th over, scoring a 27-ball 28.

Markram was then joined by Rassie van der Dussen in the middle and the duo stitched an anchoring 54-run partnership before Usama Mir – Shadab Khan’s concussion replacement – trapped the latter lbw on 21.

South Africa then sustained a major blow to their pursuit as in-form Heinrich Klaasen (12) perished cheaply in the second over, causing South Africa to slip to 136/4.

Coming out to bat at number six, David Miller joined forces with Markram to put together a 70-run stand which lasted when Shaheen Afridi got the former caught behind in the 34th over.

He remained a notable contributor for South Africa with a 33-ball 29.

Markram was then involved in another crucial partnership when he, alongside, Marco Jansen added 29 runs to the total for the sixth wicket before Jansen fell victim to Haris Rauf after a brisk 20-run cameo.

South Africa’s mainstay Aiden Markram then finally perished in the 41st over with the scoreboard reading 250.

He looked to heave Usama over the top but only managed a leading edge to hand a simple catch to Babar Azam.

He remained the top-scorer for South Africa with a gutsy 91 in 93 deliveries, laced up with seven boundaries and three sixes.

South Africa further slipped to 250/8 in the next over when Gerald Coetzee got caught behind off Shaheen. He could score 10 in 13 deliveries.

With the departure of all their set batters, South Africa’s hopes were on Keshav Maharaj.

He put on a sensational 10-run partnership with Lungi Ngidi (4) before a match-winning 11-run partnership with Tabraiz Shamsi (4*).

Maharaj remained unbeaten with a 21-ball seven which featured one boundary.

Shaheen Shah Afridi led the bowling attack for Pakistan with 3/45 while Haris Rauf, Usama Mir and Mohammad Wasim Jr bagged two wickets each.


Opting to bat first, Pakistan could raise 270 runs on the board despite anchoring half-centuries by captain Babar Azam and Suad Shakeel.

Openers Abdullah Shafique (9) and Imam-ul-Haq (12) failed to give Pakistan a steady start as both perished cheaply to Marco Jansen with just 38 runs on the board in the seventh over.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam then joined forces with Mohammad Rizwan. The duo put together a 48-run stand before the latter fell victim to Gerald Coetzee after scoring a 27-ball 31.

Babar was then involved in a crucial 43-run partnership with Iftikhar Ahmed before both perished in quick succession to leave Pakistan reeling 141/5.

Babar scored 50 off 65 deliveries with the help of four boundaries and a six.

Saud Shakeel and Shadab Khan then knitted the most valuable partnership of the innings as they added 84 runs for the sixth wicket before both fell in the span of 15 deliveries.

Shadab scored a 36-ball 43 while Saud top-scored for Pakistan with a run-a-ball 52, laced up with seven boundaries.

Mohammad Nawaz then played a brief 24-run cameo at the backend before South Africa wrapped up Pakistan’s innings on 270 in the 47th over.

Shamsi led the bowling attack with 4-60, followed by Gerald Coetzee’s 3/43 while Jansen bagged two wickets.


46.4: Mohammad Wasim Jr 7 (9b 0x4 1×6) SR 77.77

Wasim Jr with a huge thrash through the line, fifth-stump, a thin snick of willow as the ball flies through to the keeper.

45.5: Mohammad Nawaz 24 (24b 1×4 2×6) SR: 100

Nawaz has a hack through the line but his weight is still back in the crease in a defensive position. A huge leading-edge flies high to the off-side, Miller hurtles in from point and gathers well.

44.2: Shaheen Shah Afridi 2 (4b 0x4 0x6) SR: 50

Shamsi outclasses Shaheen by a pinpoint accurate delivery on a length as the batter spoons it to Temba Bavuma at slip.

42.1: Saud Shakeel 52 (52b 7×4 0x6) SR: 100

Shamsi bowls a quicker leg break much closer to the off stump, he throws his bat at it and nicks it through to the keeper.

39.4: Shadab Khan 43 (36b 3×4 2×6) SR: 119.44

Coetzee hurled down a bumper, ball skimming at head height, 140kph on the speed dial, Shadab tried to tug that away but ended up spooning it to short midwicket, Maharaj pouched it safely in his hands.

27.5: Babar Azam 50 (65b 4×4 1×6) SR: 76.92

Sharp leg spin by Shamsi and Babar tried to scoop it over the keeper’s head but failed to connect. They decided to send it upstairs after the umpire turned down the appeal. There is a slight deflection as the ball passes the gloves and the on-field umpire has to change his decision.

25.1: Iftikhar Ahmed 21 (31b 1×4 1×6) SR: 67.74

Iftikhar came down the pitch and got the leading edge, got befuddled by Shamsi’s googly, the ball hung in the air for a while and Klaasen pouched it safely at long-on.

15.5: Mohammad Rizwan 31 (27b 4×4 1×6) SR: 114.81

A wild swipe across the line by Rizwan, not remotely settled against the sharp pace and heavy lift off the deck. This one skims through at helmet height, and it’s a faint but clear top edge through to the keeper.

6.3: Imam-ul-Haq 12 (18b 2×4 0x6) SR: 66.66

Perfect length, right up in the arc for the drive by Jansen, but the line was outside off and the pace was fractionally down, and a deep-set slip is waiting to pick off the chance.

4.3: Abdullah Shafique 9 (17b 1×4 0x6) SR: 52.94

Shafique climbed into the short ball by Jansen, seeking to lift it over the ropes, but got right underneath his stroke. The backward square was well positioned on the edge of the rope and the chance just plopped into his hands.

CHENNAI: Pakistan have won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in the 26th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 at MA Chidambaram Stadium.


Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP

South Africa

Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gerald Coetzee, Lungi Ngidi


Overall ODIs: Matches 82, Pakistan 30, South Africa 51, NR 1

ODI World Cup: Matches 5, Pakistan 2, South Africa 3

READ: Maheesh Theekshana says England ‘underestimated’ us

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories