Web Analytics

Fakhar’s record ton lifts Pakistan to edge New Zealand in rain-hit clash

More articles

Pakistan vs New Zealand World Cup 2023

New Zealand

401/6 (50)


200/1 (25.3)



1.6: Abdullah Shafique 4 (9b 1×4 0x6) SR: 44.44

Aerial drive over mid-off from Shafique off Southee, as Kane runs back on his hobbling knee, extends himself to put in a dive as he’s running backwards with the ball coming over his shoulder, and then lets the ball nestle into his hands.



48.5: Glenn Phillips 41 (25b 4×4 2×6) SR: 164

Wasim bowled a brilliant inswinging yorker and wrecked the stumps with a fast and furious yorker that hit Phillips’ pads and deflected away to stumps.

44.3: Mark Chapman 39 (27b 7×4 0x6) SR: 144.44

Wasim went full and got it to reverse a touch, the ball ripped away as Chapman threw the kitchen sink at it, trying to clobber it across the line over midwicket and got it wrong.

41.1: Daryl Mitchell 29 (18b 4×4 1×6) SR: 161.11

Haris bowled on a length outside off, Mitchell was trying to force it across the line and got deceived a touch by the slowness of the delivery, and made a mess of his stumps.

35.5: Rachin Ravindra 108 (94b 15×4 1×6) SR: 114.89

Ravindra tried to help it over midwicket but couldn’t get the distance on it and Saud Shakeel held on at the boundary.

34.2: Kane Williamson 95 (79b 10×4 2×6) SR: 120.25

Williamson danced down the track on Iftikhar and looked to clear long-off, but just couldn’t get enough elevation or distance on it, Fakhar took a smart catch.

10.5: Devon Conway 35 (39b 6×4 0x6) SR: 89.74

Another short delivery by Hasan Ali, and Conway miscued the pull. He couldn’t get it away and got a tickle off the glove onto the shoulder and got caught behind.

BENGALURU: Pakistan have won the toss and elected to field first against New Zealand in the 35th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

New Zealand

Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Tom Latham (wk), Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP


Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Salman Ali Agha, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shaheen Shah Afridi


Overall ODIs: Matches 115, Pakistan 60, New Zealand 51, NR 3, Tied 1

ODI World Cup: Matches 9, Pakistan7, New Zealand 2

READ: Nepal, Oman qualify for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories