Nawaz, Shadab score match-winning runs for Pakistan against Bangladesh

Pakistan vs Bangladesh

DHAKA: Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan partnered strongly to score match-winning runs as Pakistan beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the first T20I here at Shere Bangla Stadium on Friday. 

Nawaz and Shadab scored 36 off 14 together as Pakistan notched a convincing win after a nervous run-scoring phase in the middle overs.

Earlier, Mahedi Hasan played a fighting knock for Bangladesh as they managed to score 127-7 in 20 overs despite a good start from Pakistani bowlers in the first game.

Bangladesh were reduced to 61-5 after they opted to bat first in the opening game of the series.

Hasan Ali and Mohammad Wasim Jr started the proceedings by picking up early wickets to rattle Bangladesh at 15-3. Bangladeshi batters tried hard to get out of trouble but Pakistani bowlers were tough on them in 10 overs.

Later on, the home side accelerated their innings with Afif Hossain (36) setting the tone for scoring runs after surviving on a review. He struck two boundaries and as many sixes during his innings.

Nurul Hasan scored 28 runs off 22 balls including two sixes. Mahedi smashed two sixes and a four to take Bangladesh to 127-7 in respective 20 overs.

Hasan bagged three wickets followed by Wasim Jr with two scalps. Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan shared a wicket apiece.

In reply, Pakistan lost their in-form openers earlier which brought Bangladesh back in the game. Pakistan were 24-4 with their top-order being destroyed by Bangladeshi bowlers but Fakhar Zaman and Khushdil Shah stood well to support the visitors’ run-chase.

They both scored 56 runs together to set the tone for Bangladesh in the run-chase. Fakhar scored 34 runs off 36 balls laced with four boundaries whereas Khushdil made 34 including three boundaries and a six.

In the end, Shadab and Nawaz took the responsibility and drove Pakistan to maiden victory in this three-match series. Shadab made 21 off 10 including a boundary and two sixes while Nawaz smoked 18 off 8 balls with a boundary and two sixes.

For Bangladesh, Taskin Ahmed bagged two wickets while Mahedi Hasan, Mustafiz-ur-Rehman and Shoriful Islam shared a wicket apiece.


Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first against Pakistan


Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mahmudullah (capt), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan (wk), Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Aminul Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman