Fakhar, Rizwan lead Pakistan to T20I series win over Bangladesh

Pakistan vs Bangladesh

DHAKA: Fakhar Zaman and Mohammad Rizwan stayed at the crease patiently to push Pakistan to a eight-wicket victory in the second T20I against Bangladesh here at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Saturday. 

The left-right-hand batting combination played cleverly to score 85 runs together as Pakistan clinched three-match series 2-0, with a match to go.

Fakhar remained not out for 57 runs off 51 balls laced with two boundaries and three sixes whereas Rizwan made 39 off 45 including four boundaries.

For Bangladesh, Mustafizur Rehman and Aminul Islam bagged a wicket each.

Earlier, Pakistani bowlers were on the song with perfect line and length as they restricted home side Bangladesh to 108-7 in respective 20 overs.

After deciding to bat first in a consecutive T20I, Bangladesh lost their openers for just five runs. Najmul Hussain Shanto and Afif Hossian supported the home side’s sinking ship and scored 47 runs together to take them to 51-2 in eight overs.

Shadab Khan struck on the first ball of the ninth over to dismiss Hossain who walked off after scoring 20 off 21, leaving Bangladesh suffering at 51-3. Bangladeshi skipper survived on a review off Shadab’s over but it wasn’t too late when Haris Rauf got rid of him. He made 12 off 15 balls including a boundary.

Shanto was unbeaten at 40 off 34 spread over five boundaries.

For Pakistan, Shadab bagged two wickets followed by Shaheen Shah Afridi with as many wickets. Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, and Haris shared a wicket apiece.


Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bat first against Pakistan


Bangladesh: Naim, Saif, Shanto, Afif, Mahmudullah (capt), Nurul (wk), Mahedi, Aminul, Taskin, Shoriful, Mustafizur

Pakistan: Rizwan (wk), Babar (capt), Fakhar, Haider, Malik, Khushdil, Shadab, Nawaz, Rauf, Afridi, Wasim