Web Analytics

Warner, Marsh tons aid Australia thump Pakistan

More articles

Australia vs Pakistan World Cup 2023


367/9 (50)


305 (45.3)

Australia won by 62 Runs

ODI 18 of 48

Put into bat first, Australian openers David Warner and Mitchell Marsh dominated Pakistan bowlers, both scoring centuries and powered their side to a mammoth 367/9 in 50 overs.

Pakistan, while chasing, got off to a solid start as their openers Abdullah Shafique and Imam-ul-Haq also fired before Marcus Stoinis pulled things back by dismissing both of them in quick succession.

Out-of-form Adam Zampa soon claimed the prized scalp of Pakistan captain Babar Azam, causing the green shirts to slip to 175/3 in 26.2 overs.

Saud Shakeel and Mohammad Rizwan put together an anchoring 57-run partnership for the fourth wicket before Pat Cummins got rid of Saud.

Rizwan was then joined by Iftikhar Ahmed in the middle and he charged at the Australian bowlers before Zampa removed him in the 39th over.

Zampa then struck again in his next over and got rid of Pakistan’s mainstay Mohammad Rizwan to put the five-time champions in complete control.

Rizwan remained a notable run-getter for Pakistan with a 40-ball 46 including five boundaries.

Australian bowlers then ran through their batting tail and soon booked Pakistan on 305 to taste their second consecutive victory, which lifted them to the fourth position in the ICC World Cup 2023.


BENGALURU: Pakistan have won the toss and elected to field first against Australia in the 18th match of the ICC World Cup 2023 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium.


David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Marcus Stoinis, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP


Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi


Overall ODIs: Matches 107, Australia 69, Pakistan 34, NR 3, Tied 1

ODI World Cup: Matches 10, Australia 6, Pakistan 4

READ: Virat Kohli closes gap on Sachin Tendulkar’s record after 48th ODI ton

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories