Babar resists but New Zealand thump Pakistan in second ODI

WATCH HD Live Streaming on ARY ZAP: 

New Zealand bowlers displayed a combined effort to bundle out Pakistan for a mere 182 to seal a dominating series-levelling victory in the second ODI.

PAK 182 (43 Overs)

Sodhi to bowl again

PAK 174/8 (42 Overs)

Santner continues

PAK 172/7 (41 Overs)

Sodhi comes back

PAK 166/7 (40 Overs)

Santner to bowl his ninth

PAK 161/7 (39 Overs)

38.2: Southee went short again, and angled one into him. The ball ended on leg – there was no room to freely swing his bat – as the ball popped up off his glove for a simple catch behind.

Southee continues

PAK 152/6 (38 Overs)

Santner comes back

PAK 150/6 (37 Overs)

Southee comes back

PAK 142/6 (36 Overs)

35.5: Nawaz went for the sweep to this good length ball angling into him, and towards leg stump. But the ball hit his arm off his bat, and dropped down in front of the stumps. It ended up hitting the off stump

Bracewell comes to bowl his last

PAK 137/5 (35 Overs)

Ferguson again

PAK 131/5 (34 Overs)

Bracewell replaces Santner

PAK 128/5 (33 Overs)

32.5: Phillips swoops down on the ball from point and capitalises on a mix-up between Salman and Babar. He throws the stumps down and Agha has to go.

Ferguson continues

PAK 118/4 (32 Overs)

Santner continues

PAK 114/4 (31 Overs)

Ferguson replaces Phillips

PAK 110/4 (30 Overs)

Santer replaces Bracewell

PAK 105/4 (29 Overs)

Phillips continues

PAK 91/4 (28 Overs)

Bracewell again

PAK 87/4 (27 Overs)

26.5: Phillips strikes in his first over. He keeps bowling fast sliders from round the wicket, pings him in front of off as Sohail does not meet with a sweep.

Glenn Phillips comes into the attack

PAK 84/3 (26 Overs)

Bracewell continues

PAK 83/3 (25 Overs)

Sodhi comes again

PAK 75/3 (24 Overs)

Bracewell replaces Santner

PAK 72/3 (23 Overs)

Sodhi to bowl

PAK 68/3 (22 Overs)

Santner comes again

PAK 66/3 (21 Overs)

Sodhi comes to bowl

PAK 64/3 (20 Overs)

19.6: Santner tosses the ball up on a good length, angling it into middle and leg. And the ball drifted in, and turned away nicely to hit off stump.

Santner to bowl

PAK 62/2 (19 Overs)

Sodhi to continue

PAK 59/2 (18 Overs)

Bracewell comes again

PAK 56/2 (17 Overs)

Sodhi continues

PAK 53/2 (16 Overs)

Bracewell continues

PAK 52/2 (15 Overs)

Ish Sodhi comes into the attack

PAK 47/2 (14 Overs)

Bracewell from Pavillion End

PAK 43/2 (13 Overs)

Santner again

PAK 39/2 (12 Overs)

Bracewell continues

PAK 37/2 (11 Overs)

Santner continues

PAK 31/2 (10 Overs)

Michael Bracewell comes into the attack

PAK 29/2 (9 Overs)

Mithcell Santner replaces Southee

PAK 27/2 (8 Overs)

Ferguson comes to bowl

PAK 23/2 (7 Overs)

Southee to bowl

PAK 18/2 (6 Overs)

Ferguson again

PAK 13/2 (5 Overs)

Southee comes again

PAK 9/2 (4 Overs)

3.3: Dug in short at the arm pit, angling across, Imam dares to hook and skies it to Mitchell.

Ferguson continues

PAK 8/1 (3 Overs)

2.4: On a length and running away outside off, loose drive from Fakhar this time. Sharp diving take from Latham.

Southee continues

PAK 1/0 (2 Overs)

Lockie Ferguson to bowl from the other end

PAK 0/0 (1 Over)

Imam-ul-Haq and Fakhar Zaman came out for the run chase. Tim Southee to bowl the opening over.


KARACHI: Mohammad Nawaz and Naseem Shah spearheaded Pakistan’s bowling attack against New Zealand as the hosts bundled out the Blackcaps for 261 despite Devon Conway’s century.

NZ 261 (49.5 Overs)

Naseem to bowl the final over

NZ 250/9 (49 Overs)

Haris comes to bowl his last

NZ 242/9 (48 Overs)

47.2: It was actually well timed by Southee, who swiped at a good length delivery angling slightly into him to end on middle. The ball flew off his bat there, but right into the fielder’s hands.

Naseem replaces Wasim

NZ 239/8 (47 Overs)

46.3: Sodhi again backed away, standing wide of leg, as Rauf spotted that and fired in an inswinging yorker on leg stump. New Zealand lose their eighth.

Haris continues

NZ 237/7 (46 Overs)

Wasim continues

NZ 233/7 (45 Overs)

Haris Rauf replaces Usama

NZ 227/7 (44 Overs)

Wasim Jr replaces Salman Agha

NZ 225/7 (43 Overs)

Usama continues

NZ 224/7 (42 Overs)

Salman Agha continues

NZ 220/7 (41 Overs)

40.3: It was the googly on a shortish length on middle, as it turned away and ended on off. Bracewell reviews but in vain.

Usama Mir back into the attack

NZ 219/6 (40 Overs)

Salman Agha replaces Haris Rauf

NZ 211/6 (39 Overs)

Nawaz to bowl his last over

NZ 208/6 (38 Overs)

Haris Rauf continues

NZ 206/6 (37 Overs)

36.6:Phillips went on the front foot, and swung a pull which had height but lacked in power. Easy take for Fakhar,

Nawaz continues

NZ 205/5 (36 Overs)

Haris Rauf continues

NZ 202/5 (35 Overs)

34.5: Nawaz bags the big wicket of Williamson. This is a beauty from Nawaz. Nice and full, drifts in towards middle, dips to beat him in length.

Nawaz continues

NZ 200/4 (34 Overs)

Haris back into the attack

NZ 198/4 (33 Overs)

32.5: Back of a length and skids back in to hit Latham on the pads once again. Babar takes a review and the on-field call has been overturned.

32.3: Mitchell belatedly rocks back and has a loose waft at it. Edges it behind to Rizwan

Nawaz continues

NZ 195/2 (32 Overs)

Naseem continues

NZ 188/2 (31 Overs)

Nawaz replaces Usama Mir

NZ 183/2 (30 Overs)

29.6:  Naseem knocks over Conway. Pakistan finally found the breakthrough. On a length, starts on middle and seams away just enough to beat the outside edge and clunk into the top of off stump.

Naseem continues

NZ 180/1 (29 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 166/1 (28 Overs)

Naseem Shah back into the attack

NZ 160/1 (27 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 157/1 (26 Overs)

Wasim continues

NZ 142/1 (25 Overs)

Usama Mir replaces Salman

NZ 138/1 (24 Overs)

Wasim continues

NZ 131/1 (23 Overs)

Salman continues

NZ 122/1 (22 Overs)

Wasim continues

NZ 119/1 (21 Overs)

Salman Agha comes into the attack

NZ 112/1 (20 Overs)

Mohammad Wasim replaces Nawaz

NZ 104/1 (19 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 96/1 (18 Overs)

Nawaz continues

NZ 88/1 (17 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 86/1 (16 Overs)

Nawaz continues

NZ 83/1 (15 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 82/1 (14 Overs)

Nawaz continues

NZ 79/1 (13 Overs)

Usama Mir continues

NZ 74/1 (12 Overs)

Nawaz continues

NZ 66/1 (11 Overs)

Usama Mir replaces Naseem Shah

NZ 63/1 (10 Overs)

Mohammad Nawaz comes into the attack

NZ 60/1 (9 Overs)

Naseem continues

NZ 54/1 (8 Overs)

Mohammad Wasim replaces Haris Rauf

NZ 47/1 (7 Overs)

Naseem continues

NZ 34/1 (6 Overs)

Haris continues

NZ 28/1 (5 Overs)

Naseem continues

NZ 22/1 (4 Overs)

Haris continues

NZ 16/1 (3 Overs)

Naseem comes back

NZ 8/1 (2 Overs)

Haris Rauf comes into the attack

NZ 2/1 (1 Over)

0.5: Naseem strikes. Finn Allen is gone! Allen drills it short extra cover, where Nawaz dives forward to snag the catch

Finn Allen and Devon Conway come out to bat for New Zealand. Naseem Shah to bowl the first over.


KARACHI: New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat first in the second ODI of the three-match series against Pakistan, here at National Bank Cricket Arena on Wednesday.

Playing XIs:

Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman,  Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haris Sohail, Salman Ali Agha,Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir,  Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (capt), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson