Web Analytics

Pakistan eye to “identify key players for T20 World Cup” in England series

More articles

BIRMINGHAM: Pakistan women’s cricket team are all geared up to take on England in the first of the three-match T20I series starting tomorrow at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground here.

The second and third T20Is will be played in Northampton and Leeds on 17 and 19 May, respectively.

Pakistan will then take on England in a three-match ODI series, part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25, scheduled to be played from 23 to 29 May in Derby, Taunton and Chelmsford.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Pakistan women’s team captain Nida Dar stated that she has full confidence in each of her player’s abilities while also termed the upcoming series as an opportunity to identify key players before the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in October in Bangladesh.

“We have been working hard to fine-tune our skills and strategies ahead of this series. Each member of the team has showcased great dedication and discipline during the practice sessions, and I have full faith in their abilities to deliver in the forthcoming series.

“Playing against a top side like England is always a challenge, but it is also a great opportunity for our players to test themselves against the best in the world. The series will help us identify key players for the upcoming T20 World Cup.”

Pakistan women squad: Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Rameen Shamim, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Tuba Hassan, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar

England women T20I squad: Heather Knight (Captain), Alice Capsey, Amy Jones, Bess Heath, Charlie Dean, Danielle Gibson, Danielle Wyatt, Freya Kemp, Lauren Bell, Lauren Filer, Linsey Smith, Maia Bouchier, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Sarah Glenn and Sophie Ecclestone

Tour schedule:

11 May – 1st T20I, Birmingham
17 May – 2nd T20I, Northampton
19 May – 3rd T20I, Leeds

21 May – One-Day warm-up game v ECB Development XI, Northampton

23 May – 1st ODI, Derby
26 May – 2nd ODI, Taunton
29 May – 3rd ODI, Chelmsford

READ: Colin Munro announces retirement from international cricket

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories