Pakistan to defend Champions Trophy title in 2025

DUBAI: International Cricket Council (ICC) has reintroduced the Champions Trophy which will take place in 2025 from 2029. 
In its board meeting on Tuesday, ICC decided to reintroduce the Champions Trophy based on eight teams. Pakistan will now have to defend the title. Last time, Green Shirts won the tournament by defeating India by 180 runs in the final.
Meanwhile, the ICC board has decided to increase the number of teams in 50-overs World Cups in 2027 and 2031. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.
ICC World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029 and 2031.
The hosts for the Men’s events will be decided in September following a selection process that will get underway this month.

READ: ICC extends deadline for India to make final call on T20 World Cup