Web Analytics

Pakistan blunt Australia to reach World Blind Games final

More articles

BIRMINGHAM: Pakistan blind cricket team on Wednesday, booked their spot in the final of the ongoing International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) World Blind Games with a resounding six-wicket victory over Australia.

Opting to bat first, Australia’s batting lineup failed completely and could only accumulate 107 runs before being bundled out in the final over.

Australia’s opening pair of M Cameron and M McCarthy scripted a decent start for their side with a brilliant 53-run stand.

The pair, however, found it hard to score freely against a disciplined Pakistan bowling attack before the Australian captain faltered.

Muhammad Salman provided a much-needed breakthrough to the Pakistan blind cricket team by castling McCarthy, who could score 19 off 27 deliveries.

His dismissal opened the floodgates and Australia soon ran into a collapse.

Cameron, however, stood his ground firm and kept the scoreboard ticking singlehandedly while losing partners at the other end.

He waged a lone battle for Australia with a cautious 41 from 47 balls.

Besides the openers, none of the Australian batters could make it to the double figures.

Matiullah, Israr Hassan and Fakhar Abbas bagged two wickets each for Pakistan blind cricket team while Muhammad Salman and Muhammad Asif struck out a batter apiece.

Chasing a modest 108, Pakistan comfortably recorded their third consecutive victory in the tournament for the loss of just three wickets and 33 balls to spare.

Mohsin Khan spearheaded Pakistan run chase with a 35-ball 37, hitting a boundary while Matiullah scored an unbeaten 23.

Besides them, Moain Aslam (15) and Zafar Iqbal (12) made notable contributions.

Their third consecutive victory powered the Pakistan blind cricket team to book their spot in the final.

The Green Shirts, however, next face England in their last group match on Thursday.

Notably, Pakistan kick-started their World Blind Games campaign with an 18-run victory over arch-rivals India before handing a seven-wicket thrashing to Bangladesh on Tuesday.

READ: PFF names 23-member squad for SAFF U-16 championship

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories