Web Analytics

Nida Dar claims massive record for Pakistan in Women’s ODIs

More articles

KARACHI: Women’s cricket team captain Nida Dar on Sunday, became only the second bowler to take 100 wickets for Pakistan in Women’s ODIs.

Dar achieved the feat in the recently-concluded second home ODI against West Indies, where he returned sensational bowling figures of 4/52 in nine overs.

She dismissed opening batter Rashada Williams in the 10th over of the West Indies’ pursuit to complete the century of her Women’s ODI wickets.

Dar then went on to claim three more scalps, removing Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry and Aaliyah Alleyne, boasting her wickets tally to 103.

Notably, Nida Dar is the only Pakistan bowler to take more than 100 wickets in the format, behind former skipper and legendary all-rounder Sana Mir, who has 151 wickets to her name.

Moreover, she is only the 26th bowler in the history of Women’s ODIs to take 100 wickets and 22nd in the list of most wickets, led by India’s Jhulan Goswami.

But her four-fer was not enough as West Indies edged out Pakistan by two wickets in a last-ball thriller and took an unassailable 2-0 lead against the home side in a three-match series.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

In-form Stafanie Taylor and Shemaine Campbelle led the batting charge for the visitors with important half-centuries while skipper Hayley Matthews scored a gutsy 44 up the order.

Opening batter Sidra Ameen and former captain Bismah Maroof were the standout batters for Pakistan, courtesy of their brilliant half-centuries.

The pair also put together a dominant 80-run partnership for the second wicket.

Pakistan will now take on West Indies in the third ODI on Tuesday at the iconic National Bank Stadium here in a bid to avoid the clean sweep.

Pakistan women’s squad for West Indies ODI:

Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof*, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hassan, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar.

West Indies Squad for white-ball series

Hayley Matthews (c), Shemaine Campbelle (vc), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Qiana Joseph, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams, Kate Wilmott.

READ: West Indies edge Pakistan in last ball thriller to seal ODI series

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories