Web Analytics

Depleted New Zealand sustain major blow ahead of Pakistan T20Is

More articles

New Zealand’s inexperienced squad for the five-match away T20I series against Pakistan got weakened as hard-hitting opener Finn Allen and speedster Adam Milne have been ruled out of the series.

According to New Zealand Cricket (NZC), Allen and Milne suffered injuries in the team’s training session that concluded just hours before their departure for Pakistan.

Adam Milne felt discomfort in his ankle while Finn Allen sustained an injury to his back and were subsequently left out of New Zealand’s already depleted squad.

“We feel for both Finn and Adam, suffering injuries so close to the start of the tour. They have been strong performers for us in the T20 format since the last World Cup,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

“Our support staff and medical networks will be working closely with both players over the next few weeks to complete plans for their treatment and subsequent return to cricket.”

As a result, wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Blundell and all-rounder Zak Foulkes replaced Allen and Milne respectively.

Blundell has previously visited Pakistan while uncapped Foulkes will likely be making his debut for New Zealand.

“Zak has had an impressive season for Canterbury including being their leading wicket-taker in all three competitions,” Stead said.

“He has displayed impressive skills with the ball, particularly in T20 cricket for the Kings. We also know he has skills with the bat and it will be an excellent opportunity for him to be part of the group.”

New Zealand squad:

Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Zak Foulkes, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (WK), Ish Sodhi.

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saim Ayub, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan (wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Irfan Khan Niazi, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

Reserves: Haseebullah, Mohammad Ali, Agha Salman, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Wasim Jr.

New Zealand are slated to reach Pakistan on April 14, two days after Pakistan’s squad announcement, for the crucial series, leading to the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup.

Rawalpindi’s Pindi Cricket Stadium will host the first three T20Is between Pakistan and New Zealand on 18, 20 and 21 April.

The two sides will then travel to Lahore to lock horns in the remaining two T20Is on 25 and 27 April, respectively.

READ: Selection committee explains Azam Khan’s inclusion in Pakistan squad

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories