Web Analytics

New Zealand unveil squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

More articles

AUCKLAND: A 15-member New Zealand squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to run from June 2 to 29, was announced Monday at an event held at the ANZ Centre in Auckland.

The 2021 finalists will kick off their campaign against Afghanistan on June 6 and will be led by experienced batter Kane Williamson.

Williamson, who will be featuring in his sixth T20 World Cup, will be leading New Zealand for the fourth time. His experience would only be bettered by Tim Southee, poised to represent the Black Caps seventh time in the showcase event.

“This is Williamson’s sixth appearance in a T20 World Cup squad and his fourth tournament as captain,” NZC said in a press release.

“His experience is bettered only by Tim Southee, who has earned selection in his seventh T20 World Cup squad and currently sits as the leading wicket taker in the history of T20 Internationals.

“Further to the experience offered by Williamson and Southee, Trent Boult has been selected in his fifth T20 World Cup squad.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

“The squad also boasts significant recent experience in the conditions with 13 of the 15-man group featuring on the team’s last tour to the West Indies in 2022.

“As well as that, six of the squad have also featured in the Caribbean Premier League T20 competition.

“Bowler Matt Henry and batting all-rounder Rachin Ravindra are the only two members of the 15 without ICC T20 World Cup experience.”

Right-arm speedsters Adam Milne and Kyle Jamieson failed to make a cut into the New Zealand squad for the T20 World Cup owing to their ankle and back injuries respectively.

Gary Stead will serve as New Zealand’s head coach for the mega event with James Foster as his deputy, while Luke Ronchi and Jacob Oram will continue as the batting and bowling coaches respectively.

New Zealand Squad for T20 World Cup 2024: Kane Williamson (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears.

READ: All-round Hayley Matthews powers West Indies women to sink Pakistan

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories