Web Analytics

Quinton de Kock’s 84* in vain as New Zealand edge South Africa in warm-up fixture

More articles

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Wicketkeeper batter Quinton de Kock’s unbeaten 84-run knock went in vain as New Zealand edged South Africa by seven runs on DLS in the ICC World Cup 2023 warm-up match.

Chasing 322, South Africa were 211/4 in 37 overs when rain intervened with de Kock (84*) and David Miller (18*) at the crease.

The downpour here did not relent and thus did not allow further action and the Proteas were found seven runs short on the DLS method.

Quinton de Kock top-scored for South Africa with an unbeaten 89 in 84 balls, hitting 12 boundaries and a six.

Heinrich Klaassen was the other notable run-getter for South Africa, scoring a 37-ball 39.

Trent Boult was the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand with 2/20 while Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner made one scalp each.

New Zealand’s batting lineup justified their captain Kane Williamson’s decision to bat first as they racked up a massive total on the board, thanks to a combined effort.

New Zealand, however, had a contrasting start to their innings as they lost their first wicket with just 24 runs on the board as Will Young perished for a 17-ball 12.

Following the early blow, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson joined Conway in the middle and stabilized the proceedings for his side.

The pair added 89 runs to the total before the Kiwi captain Williamson opted to walk back after scoring 37 in 51 balls, hitting three boundaries.

Devon Conway was then joined by wicketkeeper batter Tom Latham and the pair put on a brief 46-run partnership before the former returned to the dugout.

Conway remained the top-scorer for New Zealand with a 73-ball 78 which featured 11 boundaries and a six.

Watch ICC World Cup 2023 Live on ARY ZAP

Following his departure, Latham and Glenn Phillips spearheaded New Zealand’s expedition with the bat.

The pair added an 83-run partnership before both perished in the 40th over, bowled by Marco Jansen.

Latham scored 52 off 56 deliveries with the help of four boundaries and a six while Phillips played a 43-run knock in 40 balls, laced up with as many boundaries.

New Zealand middle-order, comprised of Mark Chapman (20), James Neesham (14), Daryl Mitchell (25) and Mitchell Santner (16) then added vital runs at the backend and propelled their side to post a decent total on the board.

For South Africa, Lungi Ngidi and Marco Jansen bagged three wickets each while the rest went wicketless.

ICC World Cup 2023 Squads

New Zealand: Tom Latham (c), Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams.

READ: Shadab Khan aims to perform at ICC World Cup 2023 with a ‘new mindset’

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories