New Zealand pick reliable pace attack for T20 World Cup, Tri-series

CHRISTCHURCH: Kane Williamson will be leading the Black Caps for the third time in T20 World Cups as New Zealand Cricket on Monday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming mega event in Australia.

The same squad will also compete in the T20 Tri-nation series with Pakistan and Bangladesh starting in Christchurch on October 7.

Runner-ups of last year’s T20 World Cup held in UAE, New Zealand, made only three changes to the finalist squad as Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell and Finn Allen replace Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle and Tim Seifert respectively.

With Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Adam Milne and Ferguson at their disposal, Black Caps have a potent pace battery to bolster their chances for the World Cup this time.

Ish Sodhi will be in charge of the spin attack along with  Bracewell and Mitchell Santner.

It is pertinent to mention here that the ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled from October 16 to November 13 in Australia.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.

READ: Sohail, openers lead Sindh to maiden National T20 Cup title