New Zealand announce squad for ICC WTC final against India

Southampton: New Zealand on Tuesday announced their 15-man squad for the World Test Championship final (WTC) against India starting on June 18 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton.
Captain Kane Williamson and wicketkeeper-batsman BJ Watling were both cleared for the WTC final.
Both Williamson and Watling had missed the second Test against England at Edgbaston due to injuries. Williamson was ruled out due to an elbow injury while Watling, who is set to retire after the WTC final against India, was sidelined by a back injury.
“Kane and BJ have certainly benefitted from their week of rest and rehabilitation and we expect them to be fit and available for the final,” Stead said at a press conference after the team’s arrival at Southampton.
Tom Blundell, who had played the Edgbaston Test, which New Zealand won, has been kept in the WTC squad as a cover for Watling.
New Zealand will go into the clash with one specialist spinner in 32-year-old left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme.
Will Young is their specialist batting cover, while Tom Blundell is the back-up wicket-keeper.
New Zealand have left out five players from their 20-man squad, including Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra and Mitchell Santner.
New Zealand WTC final squad: Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner BJ Watling and Will Young.

Read: New Zealand thrash England in 2nd Test to seal series win