Web Analytics

Key players dropped as Netherlands announce squad for T20 World Cup

More articles

AMSTELVEEN: The Netherlands have announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in June in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

The Netherlands have left out experienced all-rounder Roelof van der Merwe and batter Colin Ackermann from their T20 World Cup squad, in favour of younger and more promising players.

Young hard-hitting batter Michael Levitt, who rose to prominence after hitting a scintillating century against Namibia in February, made it into the Dutch squad for the mega-event.

Wicketkeeper Scott Edwards will continue to lead the squad, which also features star all-rounder Bas de Leede.

“We have been able to select a well-balanced team which we are confident will be able to perform in the conditions against the opposition we face in the US and West Indies,” Netherlands head coach Ryan Cook said.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

“All of the players have been training well and have been involved in the recent ProSeries with some exciting performances showing the growing depth and quality in Netherlands cricket.

“We have managed to perform admirably in the last two World Cups we have participated in and will be determined to rise to the challenges we face ahead to reach the next round of the tournament.”

The Dutch team is placed in Group D with South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal. They will kick off their T20 World Cup campaign against Nepal on June 4 against Nepal at Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas.

Netherlands squad for T20 World Cup

Scott Edwards (c, wk), Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Daniel Doram, Fred Klaassen, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O’Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, ⁠⁠Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh, Viv Kingma, Wesley Barresi

READ: Shahid Afridi lauds Pakistan batters’ strike rates in second Ireland T20I

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories