Web Analytics

Islamabad thump Dera Murad Jamali in a thrilling National T20 Cup clash

More articles

KARACHI: An undefeated half-century by Hammad Siddique helped Islamabad defeat Dera Murad Jamali by two wickets in a thrilling National T20 Cup 2023-24 match at National Bank Stadium.

While batting first, DM Jamali were dismissed for 127 in 19.1 overs courtesy of a four-fer by Umair Afridi.

Islamabad faltered while chasing a low total, losing eight wickets in the process, but were able to get over the line on the last ball of the game.

Prior to that, in another Group B fixture of National T20 Cup 2023-24, right-arm fast bowler Hunain Shah defended 10 runs in the final over to help Lahore Blues to a five-run win against Karachi Whites at the same venue.

Lahore Blues posted 159-8 in 20 overs while batting first, on the back of a half-century by Imran Butt.

Karachi Whites batters Ammad Alam, Azam Khan and Omair Bin Yousuf’s batting efforts went in vain as their team could only get to 154-7 in the allotted overs.

Watch National T20 Cup Live on ARY ZAP

Peshawar posted 158-2 in the stipulated 13 overs owing to unbeaten half-centuries by Iftikhar Ahmed and Aamer Azmat in the rain-impacted game against Quetta at NBP Sports Complex.

In response, Quetta could only manage 89, losing seven wickets in the process which came courtesy of a collective effort by the Peshawar bowling attack.

At the same venue, Karachi Blues inflicted a nine-wicket defeat on Larkana, who were bowled out for just 61 in 16.5 overs.

Karachi Blues’ Syed Waleed Azeem got four wickets while Mohammad Taha and Afnan Khan returned with two each.

Karachi Blues comfortably chased the target in 8.2 overs while losing just a wicket.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Zeeshan Malik hit his maiden T20 century to help Rawalpindi post 174-6 in 20 overs at HPC Oval Ground.

While chasing 175, Faisalabad could only manage 147-9, falling well short of the required total.

Two wickets each by Mehran Mumtaz, Mubasir Khan and Jahandad Khan helped Rawalpindi’s cause with the ball.

Abbottabad on the other hand, successfully chased the target of 116 against Bahawalpur in 13 overs with seven wickets to spare.

Fakhar Zaman and Sajjad Ali Jnr starred with the bat for Abbottabad, scoring 42 and 30 respectively.

Earlier, Bahawalpur while batting first had been restricted to 115-9 in 20 overs due to a solid performance by the Abbottabad bowlers.

READ: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan help India thrash Australia to go 2-0 up

- Advertisement -

Latest Stories