Web Analytics

Michael Bracewell to lead New Zealand in T20I series against Pakistan

More articles

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Wednesday announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against Pakistan under the leadership of allrounder Michael Bracewell.

“Bracewell, who will skipper the team for the first time, has been side-lined since his most recent international appearance in March last year, firstly with a ruptured Achilles and then with a broken finger,” NZC said in a press release.

“Since recovering he’s made a spectacular return to cricket, claiming his best first-class figures with the ball in his first match back in the Plunket Shield.

Bracewell last played for New Zealand in March last year before suffering a ruptured right Achillies injury during the T20 Blast in June and then a broken finger.

He made his comeback during the Plunket Shield and claimed career-best bowling figures of 8 for 41 while playing for Wellington against Otago.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

The squad features uncapped batter Tim Robinson and fast bowler Will O’Rourke, who represented New Zealand in Test and ODI cricket earlier this season.

Colin Munro, Will Young and Tim Southee were unavailable for selection, while some of the first-choice players opted out of the tour due to their commitments in the IPL.

The Blackcaps squad will reach Pakistan on 14 April and will play three T20Is at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi on 18, 20 and 21 April.

Following that, the action will move to Lahore, where the remaining two T20Is of the series will be played on 25 and 27 April, respectively.

New Zealand T20I squad vs Pakistan

Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi

READ: PSG coach Luis Enrique ‘very happy’ with Mbappe ahead of French Cup semi

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories