Web Analytics

Match officials for T20 World Cup 2024 final confirmed

More articles

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday, confirmed the match officials for the highly-anticipated final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 final between India and South Africa.

According to the apex cricketing body, Richard Illingworth and Chris Gaffaney will serve as the on-field umpires while Richard Kettleborough will take up the role of the TV umpire.

Furthermore, Rodney Tucker will be the fourth umpire of the high-stakes match.

India and South Africa will lock horns in the high-voltage T20 World Cup 2024 final at Kensington Oval, Barbados on June 29. The final of the 20-team tournament will start at 7:30 PM, Pakistan Standard Time (PST).

However, bad weather will likely affect the final as heavy rainfall is expected throughout the day.

According to weather.com, there are 66 per cent chances of rain at around 10:30 AM local time (7:30 PM PST), the scheduled start time of the game.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

Moreover, the forecast remains grim late in the evening with a 50% chance of precipitation at 4:00 pm local time (1:00 AM PST), posing a threat to the possibility of a full-fledged match.

As a result, the ICC has allocated a reserve day for the final on June 30 in a bid to ensure the completion of the high-stakes match but rigorous efforts will be made to complete the game as per the original schedule.

Remember, both teams will need to bat a minimum of ten overs to determine the result through the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method, unlike the group-stage matches where five overs per side are enough to produce the result.

Despite all the efforts, if both teams did not manage to bat ten overs each across the two-day period then the trophy will be shared.

READ: Babar Azam kicks off training after T20 World Cup 2024 debacle

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories