Web Analytics

Match officials for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 revealed

More articles

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday, unveiled a list of 26 match officials for the first-round matches of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in the West Indies and USA.

The match officials comprising 20 umpires and six match referees, all set to officiate in the ninth edition of the Men’s T20 World Cup.

The sublime list of umpires includes last year’s winner of the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, Richard Illingworth, along with Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney and Paul Reiffel.

Notably, all the aforementioned umpires officiated in the T20 World Cup 2022 final between Pakistan and England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The match referees’ team, on the other hand, features Ranjan Madugalle, who officiated the 2022 final, alongside the format’s most experienced referee, Jeff Crowe.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

ICC General Manager Cricket Wasim Khan reflected on the selection of top match officials for this year’s cricket extravaganza and expressed his confidence in their abilities to perform well.

“We are pleased to announce our team of match referees and umpires for the historic ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

“Within the selected cohort, we have a compliment of experienced match officials and other high performing members who have been recognized for their strong and consistent performances.

“The throughput from the pathway programme will continue to see the development and emergence of high-quality match officials across the game.

“With 20 teams and 55 matches played over 28 days, this will be the biggest T20 World Cup ever and we are proud of the team we have assembled. We are confident that our officials will perform strongly.

“We wish them all the best of luck for what promises to be a very exciting tournament.”

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is slated to run from June 1 to 29 and will be co-hosted by the USA and West Indies. The tournament kicks off with co-host USA taking on Canada in the curtain raiser at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas.

The ninth edition of the mega event features a record 20 teams, divided into four groups. The top two teams from each of the groups will qualify for the Super Eight phase, where the sides will be split into two groups of four.

The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals.

The Match Officials for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

Umpires: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Allahudien Paleker, Richard Kettleborough, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon, Sam Nogajski, Ahsan Raza, Rashid Riaz, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Shahid Saikat, Rodney Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson and Asif Yaqoob.

Match referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andrew Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.

READ: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 official anthem released

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories